Bootcamp on MacBook (Alu)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by whois.anonymous, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. whois.anonymous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #1
    Hi peeps ! I am very noob in this as i am a new mac user after using xp fer 5yrs... Hope ppl can answer by doubts.

    1.) Bootcamp is a software or is already implemented on e new MacBook (Alu) ?

    2.) After bootcamp vista, will e virus (IF) affect my original Mac partition ?

    3.) Is vista or xp a better choice ? Speed, performance likewise...

    4.) And lastly, which things do i need to have in order to bootcamp ?

    Thanks if anyone could help me...
     
  2. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #2
    1. It is already on your MacBook, but you need to configure it and then install Windows from the disk (XP w/SP2 or Vista)

    2. It's possible.

    3. XP due to lower requirements.

    4. Mac running Leopard, Win XP w/ SP2 or Vista disk. And enough free HDD space.
     
  3. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #3
    1. Comes with Leopard on every intel mac, located in the Utilities folder (/Applications/Utilities), called Boot Camp Assistant.app. (Just start typing "boot camp" into spotlight and it will find it for you.

    2. I have never heard this happen to anyone. So I'm going to say no. Windows has a completely different library than OS X, executables in windows will not run in OS X, so I highly highly doubt that it will affect OS X... unless it somehow erased your entire drive.

    3. Vista 64-bit > XP 32-bit > Vista 32-bit... so depending on what you have at your disposal. Keep in mind more things are compatible with 32-bit (although, 32-bit apps WILL run in 64-bit in a "legacy" mode).

    4. Intel mac (yes, your aluminum macbook will do fine...) running Leopard and your restore DVD's that came with the laptop (they contain the drivers for Windows). Enough HDD space to install Vista, or XP (whichever you choose) and the Windows install disk.

    Open boot camp assistant --> Insert Windows disk --> Partition drive to desired amount --> reboot and install Windows (MAKE SURE YOU PICK THE PARTITION SPECIFIED FOR WINDOWS, THE C DRIVE/ PARTITION!!!!!) --> Once at the desktop, insert restore DVD 1 and it should begin installing the drivers. If the first disk does not work, try the second.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. whois.anonymous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #4
    Ok, thanks fer the replies ! But i have heard that, 64bit is much better in memory stuff and speed or so ? Or maybe the difference in 64bit and 32bit is compatible ?
     
  5. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    No problem! That's why we're here!!

    64-bit can address a lot more memory than 32-bit. 32-bit is limited to about 2.98 to 3.3 (depending on your system configuration). 64-bit is faster as well, so to answer your questions, yes and yes lol.

    Most things won't run natively on 64-bit but will run on a 32-bit legacy mode and you can't see much of a difference. There are some programs that just flat out will not run in a 64-bit environment, but patches are out there for those programs.
     
  6. whois.anonymous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #6
    if i say for gaming, 64 bit or 32 bit is better ?
     
  7. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #7
    I'm almost certain that most games aren't native 64-bit and don't support it very well. At this point it's a toss up. Eventually everything will be 64-bit and yes, it will be faster to game on than 32-bit.
     
  8. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #8
    Boot Camp

    Hi Markov,

    May I know which the is most ideal Format option to use when installing XP Pro (SP3)? I tried the last one which is leave it intact but can't seem to work.

    And also, since I'm running the 9400M on the MacBook Alu 2.4ghz, will it detect and display everything (such as the RAM, Processor and GFX) when I right click on My Computer - Properties?
     
  9. petermcphee macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #9
    I would echo the other posters that recommend XP over Vista. I have found that XP is a solid and quick alternate OS on my MacBook.
     
  10. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #10
    After hitting F8 to agree and all that licensing stuff and past versions... it will bring up the partitioner. Arrow down and select "C:/ [BOOT CAMP] FAT 32" or however it's displayed. Type F for format, and select NTFS quick. NTFS is the best option because FAT32 will not let you have files that are over the size of 4 GB. You can read/ write to NTFS via OS X using MacFuse and NTFS-3G, both are free and work well. You can read/write to your OS X drive using Mac Drives, which is not free.

    If you have 2 GB of ram, it will show up as 1.98 more than likely which is normal. If you have 3, 2.98 and if you have 4, no more than 3.3 will show (depending on your system config). The processor will show up as "Intel (2) Dual Core [or something to that effect] clocked at the correct speed. The video card will show up correctly in system information, but I'm not sure how Windows labels it. It may just show the chipset name, but it still is the 9400m.
     
  11. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #11
    Hi Markov,

    Currently, Im using MacFUSE and NTFS-3G to read/write my Western Digital Passport 250gb but, I dont quite get it when you mention "You can read/write to your OS X drive using Mac Drives, which is not free." Which Mac drives do you mean? The default Macintosh HD you mean?

    So i'll have to select NTFS quick ya then :) Thanks alot man! I'll attempt to do a bootcamp once again and look out for the properties!

    Have a nice day! :)
     
  12. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #12
    My apologies, I was referring to a software named "MacDrive", which can be found here:

    http://www.mediafour.com/products/macdrive/

    And yes, that will let you access fully the Macintosh HD.

    And you are welcome, and have a nice day yourself! I appreciate your politeness! =)
     
  13. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #13
    Hi Markov!

    Thanks for clarifying, you've been most helpful in clearing my doubts. Hehh... It's my first MacBook... Glad that I'm learning new things each day :)

    Alright, have a nice day too! Gonna start "Boot Camping"! Lol...
     
  14. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #14
    Ah well enjoy the macbook! Don't forget to insert the first install DVD that came with the macbook to install the drivers. After the driver installation, check for updates via Apple Software update and make sure you have the latest trackpad driver and such. I think there was on release for XP.

    If you have any further questions, feel free to leave em here, I'll check back periodically.
     
  15. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #15
    Hi Markov!

    I've upgraded to 4gb ram and successfully boot camp Win XP (SP3) and it shows 9400M in my display too! Heh yeah I did insert the Mac DVD for drivers and did some updates :)

    I know this sound funny but can I proceed to install the usual software such as the AVG antivirus, CCleaner and my Razor mouse drivers like I did to my previous Window PC to my boot camp Windows? It won't cause any conflicts to the Mac OS X right?

    Thanks! :)
     
  16. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #16
    Indeed you can. You have completed all necessary steps and can now do anything your hardware permits. Some game will run on the 9400m, other will not, obviously. As far as AVG, CCleaner and the drivers are concerned, there should be no issues.

    Enjoy!
     
  17. whois.anonymous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #17
    Hey, do ur mind giving me e link to Win XP SP3 ? Haha...
     
  18. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #18
    Link?

    Got it as a CD. :)
     
  19. whois.anonymous thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #19
    Ohh, cuz i dunno where to get the cd. But isit possible to get it from some websites ?
     
  20. cathyy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #20
    You do realize that Windows XP isn't free, right?
     
  21. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #21
    If you are asking for the link to download Service Pack 3, you just navigate to microsoft.com and it'll be there.

    If you are asking for the link to download Windows XP w/ SP3, then you are SOL.
     
  22. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #22
    Lol... Sigh...

    My advice : go to a PC store and ask for a win XP and then update it :)
     
  23. reeveah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #23
    Hi Markov!

    Thanks once again! Successfully installed the softwares and so far no issues, running smooth! :)

    Yeah, 9400M can't really go into graphic intensive games, i know my limits :)

    Great day!
     
  24. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #24
    Great to hear! Apple included horrible graphics drivers, so here is a link to nVidia's drivers which are much better.

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_notebook_winxp_179.48_beta.html
     
  25. skrutzen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #25
    I just want to say thank you to everyone! I just started my spring classes at school yesterday and I'm taking a CIS course which will require me to use Microsoft Access at some point. I was having the hardest time deciding between XP or Vista. Thankfully, I can get XP Pro for $89 at school and I can get the ultimate steal for $60 so not bad in terms of cost. Again thank you!!!!!!
    BTW: I too am using an Alu Macbook. Are there any issues with trackpad stuff?
     

Share This Page