BootCamp on the Mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jwolf6589, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. jwolf6589 macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    I just purchased a 500GB hard drive and had my previous drive cloned over to my Macbook. BootCamp was copied over as a folder. To get BootCamp running again on the new drive do I need to go through the hassle of setting it up again or can I just create a Windows partition and copy the folder over to that drive? Previous partition was 30GB as FAT32 to complicate things.


    John
     
  2. johnhurley macrumors 6502a

    johnhurley

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #2
    It will not work just copying as a folder ... there are boot loader sections and special partition stuff that need to go in thru the installer.

    There are a bunch of threads here about using a tool called win clone to do it. Cleanest way ( and easiest but not necessarily shortest way ) is to do all the setup again on the new drive using the bootcamp assistant.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    I concur.

    Unfortunately Winclone is abandonware. It still works, but I no longer recommend it for folks who don't otherwise already know what they are doing.

    Once you have a new install you can use the folder you created to move data files back.

    B
     
  4. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Okay I have a Windows partition but have not run the setup to install Windows. I was hoping I could just drag and drop the Bootcamp folder to the drive like how I did things in the Mac OS 7-9 days but it wont work you tell me. Bummer… Thanks..
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    If you still have the original HDD and Windows partition (not the backup/folder) you can make Winclone work for you, it's just easier to reinstall from scratch.

    B
     
  6. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Well I did it. Man no wonder they pay PC admins so much! What a pain Windows is! All is done so I have 300GB free on my Mac and 71 GB's free on the bootCamp partition. I no longer am running out of hard drive space, so I can take pictures at a higher res, take videos at a higher res, and download iTunes movies! Someday I may install LION, but to do so I need to upgrade Office 2004 and Quicken 2006. I hear Quicken is out so there is a replacement app that will import Quicken files, however I forgot the name of it.
     
  7. johnhurley macrumors 6502a

    johnhurley

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #7
    You got me laughing here ... not to be mean to the desktop support people but ... lots of other places in IT with better pay ranges.
     

Share This Page