BootCamp on the new MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by J400uk, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. J400uk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #1
    Just ordered myself a new 11.6" MacBook Air :D

    Is it safe to assume this model will support BootCamp? I'll be looking to dual boot Windows 7 and Snow Leopard, need access to both for work purposes.
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
  3. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #3
    I see you are ordering with 64 GBs of memory.

    That is cutting it extremely close.

    Windows 7 alone takes ~20 GBs of memory.
     
  4. Manatee macrumors 6502a

    Manatee

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    I will certainly run Bootcamp, like any other Mac. 64GB will be tight, though, unless it's going to be only lightly used for other purposes.

    I run Bootcamp and Windows 7 on a 13" MBP with a 128GB SSD, and even then the storage gets tight if I have a bunch of photos, iTunes library, and iPhone backups on it.

    2GB RAM should be fine for Bootcamp, but it would be tight if you wanted to run OS X and Windows apps together, as with Parallels or Fusion.
     
  5. J400uk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #5
    Another question: will it run Windows 7 64-bit?
     
  6. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #6
    Core 2 Duo is 64-bit, so yes.

    I do hope you ordered it with a 128GB SSD.
     
  7. J400uk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #7
    Thanks.

    No, I refuse to pay the ridiculous prices for upgrades so I'm sticking with the stock model.
     
  8. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #8
    The problem is that in this case you cant upgrade it yourself. its Apples upgrade or none.
     
  9. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #9
    Just be ready for Windows to eat half of your available HD space by itself.
     
  10. J400uk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #10
    Thats fine. I have a 32GB SSD in my Hackintosh, about 12GB is used by OS X, and I have a 80gb SSD in my main PC about 30GB used by Windows 7. This is with all the stuff I use installed on both. 64GB SSD will give me about 60GB of usable space, 20GB will therefore be free. Not worried at all :)

    I wish people on here would stop trying to convince me I'm mad for buying the 64GB/ 2GB model. This thread was asking if Boot Camp would work, not whether you think I'm an idiot for buying the base model!
     
  11. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #11
    Fair enough, sir. ;)
     
  12. sevenall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #12
    Flash memory an issue?

    Several people have posted that Boot Camp wouldn't be a problem...but is there any consideration to the new flash memory?

    Will the Boot Camp application be able to partition the hard drive (I guess we'll start changing that to just say "memory") the same way it did the previous generation drives?
     

Share This Page