Bootcamp Partion Increase???

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by shaun0207, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. shaun0207 macrumors newbie

    shaun0207

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys:

    I'm very new to MAC. This is my first Mac computer and I love it. I installed Bootcamp so I use and run my Zune software (which is the only thing I use it for) and I made my Windows Partion only 10gb. But now I keep getting a message saying I dont have enough space on my HDD. I would like to increase the Windows partion by another 10GB. Is this possible without deleting and reinstalling the Widows OS?

    Thanks for the help.


    BTW: when is Apple gonna start going the option of BluRay for the Macbook Pro's? I dont wanna buy one inless it has the Bluray. I just sold my Dell XPS m1730 with BluRay and now I miss having the option. But I think a 17" Macbook Pro will be my next computer.
     
  2. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #2
    I know that within the Mac's Boot Camp utility you have to completely destroy and reinstall it to adjust the partition. At least that's how it was a year ago.

    However, there may be some third-party software that can do it. I would start by doing a search in the proper section not here in the MBA section. Good luck.
     
  3. shaun0207 thread starter macrumors newbie

    shaun0207

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #3
    Thanks, I appreciate the help
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    The problem with resizing the Boot Camp partition is that it's the second partition. You can shrink the first (OS X) partition but you can't move the start of the Boot Camp partition so can't make it bigger, without removing and reinstalling Windows, using the built in OS X tools.

    A free repartitioning tool I've used is gparted. It can shrink and move partitions on Mac drives.

    I've never had any problems with using it, but I've known exactly what I want to do, and I've never used it on a drive that would have cause me severe problems if I'd screwed up. As with all all repartitioning jobs, back up everything first.
     
  5. shaun0207 thread starter macrumors newbie

    shaun0207

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #5
    yeah, I've used Gparted on my old XPS m1730 to create more space for different OS's.
     

Share This Page