Bootcamp Partition - "untitiled" Can I Rename?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iBunny, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #1
    How Can I Change this to "Windows" or something other than "untitiled" It looks so Bleh sitting there on the desktop.

    Thanks
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    just highlight the drive and press enter to rename. However it if is NTFS then you'll have to rename it on the windows side of things. To do this get into windows and change the name o f the C: drive.

    Note i put a "." before the name (without quotes) which means the drive doesn't show up on the desktop in OS X. Parallels can still boot from it.
     
  3. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    I know you have to be in windows to do this (Edit: for NTFS, my bad).

    I think you right click on either the C drive or my computer and rename it to whatever in the properties.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Well if the drive is FAT32 you can do it from OSX side of things.
     
  5. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Very true, that slipped my mind because my windows partition is NTFS. I can rename my FAT32 external whatever I want, unfortunately it is all caps and I don't know why :(.
     
  6. stadidas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, United Kingdom
    #6
    Quality tips, thanks! I'll try that later. I switched to VMWare Fusion (way better in my opinion) but presumably it will still work.
     
  7. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    VMware does work with it. I know Vmware is better but I have parallels for free so thought i would use it. Not that i ever boot into windows anymore. Although will need to come October and start of my final year at university.
     
  8. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #8
    You can also use EyeCandy in Mac OS X to change that ugly icon as well.
     
  9. stadidas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, United Kingdom
    #9
    Does the Windows partition need to be NTFS to do this? I tried to rename the drive with "." at the start and it said the name contained invalid characters.
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    FAT32 doesn't support lowercase characters in the volume name.
     
  11. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #11
    Possibly, I have only tested on a NTFS partition so can't confirm. Are you doing this on OSX side or Windows Side.
     
  12. pogmothoin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Dununda
    #12
    awesome... i was wondering how to get rid of that off the desktop... thanks for the info guys :)
     
  13. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #13
    Yep. If it did, it would be called SLIM32.
     
  14. kockgunner macrumors 68000

    kockgunner

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #14
    which file format is better to use? i heard with one of them you can access files from the OS X side of things and the other one, you can't. what are the advantages of FAT32 and NFTS?
     
  15. joby866 macrumors member

    joby866

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    GREAT Britain
    #15
    I hate both NTFS and FAT32, But NTFS is better than FAT32... I wish Windows could read all File transfer types like OS X.
     
  16. Sam Yikin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #16
  17. ScottSyrNY macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse NY
    #17
    Does this 'Untitled' renaming still work under 10.5.4? I'm having no such luck (from Mac side).
     
  18. JeffTL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    #18
    I renamed mine Windows, I think from the Vista side, and it works just fine.
     

Share This Page