Bootcamp partiton on Desktop?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by themacintoshman, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. themacintoshman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    #1
    Hey everyone, I have a quick question. I tried to install Windows 7 via Bootcamp on my MacBook, and it was working fine untill it restarted my computer. It booted into my OS X partition and I had a HD labeled "Untitled" on my desktop (it was the partitioned part of my hard drive.) After a while, I got it to boot into Windows, and I have it installed on my Mac with no problems, exept for one: I still have the HD labeled "Untitled" on my desktop (it now contains all of the Windows files.) I just wanted to know if this is normal, or if there's something wrong with mine. If there is, does anyone know how to fix it? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #2
    Well, as long as you can boot into Windows with no problems, there's nothing wrong. And if you want to rename it, secondary-click> Get Info> and type in Windows 7. :apple::apple:
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Since it is NTFS, you have to rename it from within Windows.
     
  4. themacintoshman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    #4
    Ok, is there any way I can move it from my desktop or hide it from showing until I would need it?
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    The partition itself? Not that I'm aware of. The best you could do is go to the Finder menu -> Preferences -> click the General tab at the top and uncheck Hard Disks, but then that would remove your OS X disk icon as well.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    It that case, you can add an alias to your Mac HD or Home folder to the desktop.
     
  7. Queen of Spades macrumors 68030

    Queen of Spades

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    The Iron Throne
    #7
    Yes, you can re-name the drive in Windows with a dot "." before the name you choose. For example, mine is named ".brain" without the quotes, and it effectively hides the drive from showing up on my OSX desktop.

    If you ever want the drive to show up again, just remove the dot. Pretty simple.
     
  8. Ti_Poussin macrumors regular

    Ti_Poussin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #8
    Don't rename it, just eject it to the trash! you can write a script (or automator app) that will run at the boot and will eject it, remount it with disk utilities when needed.
     
  9. themacintoshman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    #9
    Thanks! I just cleaned my desktop and now it really doesn't bother me to have it on the desktop (since it's so much cleaner.) But there is two more problems I've been having: 1. When I go into Windows on my MacBook, it makes the keyboard light up, even though I have it turned off in System Preferences. 2. Is there any way to right-click with the trackpad in Windows? I know you can't use the gestures, so I guess there would be no way, but I figured I might as well ask.
     
  10. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #10
    Rename it.
     
  11. PapaSmuffs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #11
    If you installed the bootcamp drivers in Windows you should be able to use the gestures. I have windows 7 on my macbook pro and I can do the two-finger click at as well as use the backlight keyboard, screen brightness and volume controls; even the little white box that shows you the levels for these functions comes up in Windows too. Just pop in your OSX disc while in windows and it should prompt to install the bootcamp software/drivers.
     
  12. themacintoshman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Butler, PA
    #12
    I did install the drivers when I put windows on it, no dice.
     

Share This Page