BootCamp problem with Apricorn Velocity Solo x2

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by snarfquest, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. snarfquest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #1
    So I bought a Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 and simply moved my 512gb SSD OSX boot drive to it and booted up. That worked great.

    I've got Windows 7 64bit install on another harddrive (internal bay 4) and when I try to boot from it my system hangs with a black screen. If I move my SSD OSX drive back to bay 0 Windows boots fine.

    This is OSX 10.8.4.

    Black screen with no error messages are so fun to trouble-shoot. Any ideas?
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    I don't use windoze at all, but I do have a Solo x2 with a Samsung SSD (as my boot drive) and I also have other boot drives (10.8.4 & 10.7.5) on other HDDs installed internally & externally. I have no issues booting from the other drives.

    Lou
     
  3. SadChief, Sep 8, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013

    SadChief macrumors regular

    SadChief

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    #3
    The issue is with Windows, not with any Mac OS X version.
    I have the exact problem as the OP with my Mac Pro and just tried everything I could or imagined - to no avail.
    I didn't manage to find any solution as for now. Hope it'd surface somewhere one day :confused:
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    OK, just guessing here, but have either of you tried restarting and holding down the option key? This invokes Start-Up Manager and gives you a choice of startup volumes.

    Lou
     
  5. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #6
    It does not work—at least for my setup:

    • Bay1: 1 TB HD with the 0.35 TB Bootcamp partition (disk2s3 NTFS)
    • Bay2: 0.5 TB HD
    • Bay3: 1 TB HD
    • Bay4: 1.5 TB HD
    • PCIe Slot 3: Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 with OS X 10.8.4, my normal boot drive

    On my Mac Pro 5.1 I can get into the startup manager by pressing the OPTION key. From there I see the BOOTCAMP partition as well as the Windows 8 DVD (normal and EFI). I can select Windows DVD or BOOTCAMP but the display freezes immediately (no black screen, just frozen, even the mouse pointer is stuck) and the system does not boot into windows.

    I tried removing several disks and narrowed the issue down the the bootable Mac OS X SSD. I can put the empty Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 into the Mac Pro and have all drive bays plugged in. The system starts and I can OPTION boot either Windows or Windows 8 DVD just fine.

    But as soon as I plug the SSD into the Apricorn Velocity X2, I can no longer boot into windows. It works up the the startup manager, but from there on a boot into windows is not possible.

    I would appreciate a decent workaround (or a firmware update) to mitigate this issue. But then, I only want Windows as a boot-loader for games, so this is only a minor issue for me.
     
  6. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #7
    Could this be due to the drive numbers changing?

    Without the pcie card in check the disk numbers in terminal 'diskutil list' if that command returns a different disk number for the windows drive when the ssd is on the pcie, then its the windows boot manager that needs its entry fixing perhaps?

    Just a wild guess.
     
  7. flowrider, Sep 8, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    Yes, I can see this happening. Event though I don't use windoze, when I was trying to update the firmware of my Samsung SSD, it involved using a DOS CD with an ISO file on it. It would freeze when I selected the CD, as described above. To do the software update I needed to remove the card from the Solo x2 and, and use the SATA connector in the optical drive bay. My post describing the procedure:



    Lou
     
  8. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #9
    I found similar issues of PCIe cards blocking Windows installation or boot, if not exactly the same, also occurred to OWC Mercury Accelsior as discussed here. What's the connection here? Both devices use Marvell's chipset although they may not use the same one. Apparently both OWC and Apricorn were aware of the bugs, and OWC even acknowledged that it only happened in Mac Pro with Windows, not with OS X and not in standard PC systems. It's been over a year since the OWC's post, not sure this issue would be resolved quickly.
     
  9. snarfquest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #10
    Yes. No dice on that. :-(

    ----------

    Ahh thanks for the link 666Sheep.

    Seems I've joined everybody else with the same issue. I guess for now my SSD drive stay in bay 1. Oh well.
     
  10. Bloodklot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #11
    This reply is a little late but are you starting windows from restart on the mac side? or from complete shut down? From my experience and others, Velocity doesn't like to start from restart on the OSX side. You have to shut down completely, then start the computer and hold down option to select windows. Otherwise you get that black screen.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    What did you say that was different:confused:

    Lou
     
  12. zarf2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #13
    Different to what you said. You need to shutdown (not restart) then power on again holding option then choose windows. I have this card with SSD for osx and also bootcamp to windows 7 on a separate SSD, it freezes if I just restart.
     
  13. snarfquest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #14
    These problems have gone away for me since going to Mavericks and the newer Bootcamp.
     
  14. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #15
    Really? Interesting. Still running Windows 7? My solution was to use Windows 8.1, I think it handles the AHCI controller of the Solo better than 7. Might have to switch back to 7 if it's functional again.
     
  15. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #16
    Ran it on W7 with mountain lion with no issues
     
  16. snarfquest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #17
    I've never tried Windows 8 and well... honestly never plan to.

    W7 is the last version of Windows I plan to tolerate. That said I haven't even booted my bootcamp partition in 2+ months.
     
  17. XLxY, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016

    XLxY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    #18
    I think I solved the problem on boot camp booting in to Windows 7(I just tested Win7)


    I use SAMAUNG 850 pro SSD 512 GB in bay 2 and WD green 2TB HD in bay 1 before finish the OS X 10.11.3 installation.

    1.Manual partition the SSD and the HD at the beginning of OS X 10.11.3 installation (each of them divide a half). **I also make a Fusion drive first.

    2.After finished OS X 10.11.3, put the ssd into Velocity Solo x2 and leave the Win7 dvd in the cd drive

    3.Bootup Mac and Go to system preference >startup disk. Choose the Win7 dvd to startup disk and start windows installation. Follow the step then choose the ssd partition which manual partition at the beginning that be the windows install location.

    4.Once finished Win7 installation, install Bootcamp drive in your windows.

    5.Mac Pro will restart automatically, u will see that after boot into Velocity Solo x2 BIOS, windows will load into a black screen white letter and scanning for recognies the ssd location.

    Done!

    I can option bootup and choose the startup disk too. Hope it can help and sorry for my bad english
     
  18. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #19
    You need to boot up Windows from a main system board SATA location with the new card installed so it can configure the driver for that card. reboot once after install to make sure, it boots ok (it will ask for that. Then shut down and move the drive to the card.
     
  19. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #20
    Can someone correct me if I am wrong?
    This is what I've gathered so far from reading a lot of posts.

    The Apricorn Velocity Solo x2:
    1. Will cause a boot delay.
    2. If using it for Windows on a Mac, you need to install Windows in a SATA bay 1st, install drivers, then transfer SSD to the Velocity Solo.
    3. It displays a BIOS on boot up.
    4. It causes reboots from OS X to hang.

    I currently don't own one but want to move my Windows SSD from bay 3 (SATA2) to a SATA3 PCIe card for AHCI mode. Need some of these Qs answered first though I think.
    Thanks.
     
  20. XLxY, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016

    XLxY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    #21
    When ssd in PCIe slot then boot into windows but it reboot again after the windows logo comes up? Right?

    I think u can boot it into OS X first then install windows again. Follow my step 3 of my upper comment
     

Share This Page