Bootcamp Question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Dimitri5, Apr 7, 2015.

  1. Dimitri5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #1
    I have a Mid 2009 MacBook Pro with the following specs:

    Processor: 2.26 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory: 2 GB 1067 MHz
    *I have 90 GB of free storage on my HD.
    *I'm running OS X Yosemite

    I need to be able to run Windows, but I really don't want to spend a lot of money on a new laptop just for the OS. However, I am concerned that my MacBook Pro is too old and doesn't have enough memory to run Bootcamp. I understand that I can only run Windows 7. I would just be looking to install MS Office 2013 on the Windows portion of the laptop.

    Is this doable? My current 2008 version of Excel is super slow to open in the Mac OS and I'm hoping that the Windows version will run a bit quicker (plus I am familiar with the Windows interface from work).

    Would love to hear opinions on it. Would it really slow down my Mac? Is it worth it?
     
  2. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #2
    I'd suggest running Parallels instead. Bootcamp just to run MS Office seems like a bit of overkill.
     
  3. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #3
    I've heard that Parallels would run slower than using Bootcamp. Given my specs, do you have any insight into that?

    For Parallels, you have to purchase both Windows 7 OS and the Parallels software, correct?
     
  4. DavidBlack, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015

    DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #4
    However, the OP would have to spend additional money to buy Parallels. OP, I my recommendation is to Install Microsoft Office for the Mac, or you can go ahead and Install BootCamp :)

    EDIT: What version of Excel for Mac are you running? You can get the latest preview of Office for Mac 2016 here: http://products.office.com/en-US/mac/mac-preview

    I suggest you try it out and see if you like it. IMO it's just like the Windows version.
     
  5. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #5
    I use MS Office for Windows at work and I can't stand Excel for Mac...so I really would like to run it through Windows. I'm really looking for whatever would provide better performance.
     
  6. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #6
    Because you have 2GB of RAM I would not suggest using Parallels. BootCamp will give you the best performance because you don't have to share your RAM between your main OS and the VM.
     
  7. LoveToMacRumors macrumors 68000

    LoveToMacRumors

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Exactly, and i suggest the OP to get word 2016 preview. it's free.
     
  8. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #8
    I just added that to my last post before seeing this. Great minds do think alike :)
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    The memory that you have now (2GB) is very marginal, especially for Yosemite. Upgrading to 4GB, or going to the max of 8GB would be wonderful.
    You would particularly want to do that if you decide to run Windows Office in Parallels, which would work fine with more memory installed.
     
  10. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #10
    I'm running 2008 lol...it's more the fact that I'm used to the Windows environment.

    ----------

    Noob question, but is installing more memory difficult?
     
  11. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #11
    That explains why you don't fancy it on the Mac side :) If that's the case then I suggest you use Bootcamp. Will you need any assistance in installing it?
     
  12. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #12
    Not to mention having to reboot every time he wants to write a letter.

    Brilliant!
     
  13. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #13
    I think I can handle it if that's what I decide to do. I'll have to purchase Windows 7 first.

    I've used Office 2011 for Mac as well...pretty similar layout to me.
     
  14. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #14
    I'm just trying to give him the best route if he wants the best performance. Sure, you can use Parallels however, he might experience some serious system slow down and on top of that he has a HDD.

    BTW these are the official hardware requirements for Parallels 10:


    • Minimum 2 GB of memory (4 GB of memory is recommended to run Windows 7 in a virtual machine or if your host OS is Lion)
    • A Mac computer with an Intel Core 2 Duo, Core i3, Core i5, Core i7, or Xeon processor (Core Solo and Core Duo processors are no longer supported)
     
  15. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #15
    Nope, you can do that in 5 minutes, all you need to do is remove the bottom cover, and the ram slots will be inside on the logic board.
     
  16. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #16
    Hmmm, maybe that would be an option. I just don't want to mess anything up. Think upgrading RAM would help?
     
  17. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #17
    Ok, so he meets the minimum requirements. All he wants is to run MS Office.

    A single VM running Word will run just fine. This obsession with performance is unhealthy. The spell checker in Word won't mind an extra spin or to of the hard drive.

    Having to reboot every time you want to create a doc, now THAT is crazy.

    ----------

    Yes. More RAM is good.
     
  18. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #18
    I'm more concerned about running Excel macros.
     
  19. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #19
    No, its actually pretty easy. Here is Apple's official instructions:
    Plus, your Macbook Pro can install up to 8GB of RAM
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT1270
     
  20. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #20
    Excel and its macros will run fine in a 1GB VM. Ask me how I know...
     
  21. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #21
    No additional memory for sale via apple website for my model it says.

    ----------

    how do you know (let me guess)
     
  22. DavidBlack, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015

    DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #22
  23. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #23
    I've seen it done. With my own two eyes. I didn't just read about it on the Internet... :p
     
  24. Dimitri5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #24
  25. DavidBlack macrumors 6502a

    DavidBlack

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere In Apple's HQ ;)
    #25

    Exactly and with 4GB of RAM you should be able to run Parallels quite comfortably. Upgrading your RAM is the single best upgrade you can give your computer apart from getting an SSD!
     

Share This Page