Bootcamp + Raid 0

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by -BigMac-, May 25, 2012.

  1. -BigMac- macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hi guys.

    Under my MP i have a software Raid 0 on my 2 x 1TB hard drives. Use a SSD for booting.

    I want to install windows, through bootcamp.

    Preferably:
    1) Partition SSD dual boot under Mac/Windows (only system files)
    2) Create software Raid 0 under Windows - for storage, while keeping current Raid 0 under Mac.

    Is this possible?
    If 2 is not possible, is it possible to simply use the 2 storage drives under windows, as separate drives, while them being in a software raid under mac?


    Thank you very very much
     
  2. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    Windows won't boot from software RAID0. You need RAID controller like Areca to be able to do this. I'm running RAID 0 on my ARC-1231ML and Windows is booting fine.
     
  3. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #3
    This is what i tested:

    - You can install OS X under SSD, RAID SSD, HDD, RAID HDD (Mirror or Stripe);
    - You cannot install Boot Camp on that RAID or any of its partitions;
    - You can make software RAID under Windows but only for storage, not for boot;
    - You can create RAID and boot windows from 3rd party RAID cards which are bootable.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    I wouldn't.
    Keep the data disks separate. 1 data set HFS+, 1 data set NTFS. Dual booting SSD with boot camp should be fine.
    You could potentially get RAID controller that is cross platform and format exFAT or something. Standard formats would require even more extensions to read the same set while in OS X vs. Win. I just would not rely on software RAID for what you want.
     
  5. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    So would the best advice be to either:
    1) unRaid the 2 HDDs and use them as separate. one for Mac one for Windows
    2) Get another HDD just for windows, while keeping the raid.
    3) Get a hardware Raid Controller?

    Option 1 is super annoying as the speed increase is phenomenal in Raid.
    Option 2 is doable.. Option 3 isnt.. its too expensive for me.

    Guess i'm buying another HDD.. thanks a lot guys :)
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Personally I'd get the extra HD for Windows. K.I.S.S. Especially if you really are not bandwidth starved. If you can't get what you need done than that is obviously different.
    Others may have some smart kung fu tricks on the matter.
     

Share This Page