BootCamp still not utilizing full monitor size

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by cowbellallen, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. cowbellallen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #1
    Hey all,

    I just installed the latest version of BootCamp, and unfortunately it is still not utilizing the full size of my 27-inch Asus monitor. I have no idea how to get this thing to work.

    There is about an inch of space between where the display bezel is and what is actually being used. I tried downloading the Catalyst thing from AMD's website, but it won't work.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. ErikvanD macrumors newbie

    ErikvanD

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    #2
    What cable do you use? On my Mac Mini I have the opposite problem when connecting to my 24" Samsung Syncmaster: the outer edge of the screen is cut off all around. This only happens when I connect the display directly with a HDMI cable. When I use a mini display port to HDMI cable all is fine... So maybe playing around a bit with your cables might help..? Good luck!
     
  3. cowbellallen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #3
    I'm using a MiniDisplayport to HDMI. Don't know if that could cause issues.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    It may. Some displays only support 1080p over HDMI. You probably should be using a Mini Displayport to Displayport cable, if your display supports that.
     
  5. rezwits macrumors 6502a

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #5
    Overscan?

    I forget where it's at (in the Catalyst panels) but are you talking about having a black border around your video in the monitor, about an inch to 2 inch thick?

    There's an overscan slider in one of the ATI control panels, that will expand it to the full size of your monitor. I had this happen with my ATI 5770 in my Mac Pro when I first booted into Windows 7.

    Google overscan
    or this link
    http://superuser.com/questions/5723...-overscan-on-my-tv-in-catalyst-control-center

    Laters...
     

Share This Page