Bootcamp: stuck in Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by lucy.web, Dec 17, 2009.

1. lucy.web macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am trying to set up an Intel Imac running Snow for my daughter. I got the Mac side looking how I wanted and then decided to install bootcamp. Up til now I have used Virtual Box so I am a bootcamp brand newbie and a windows newbie but not so much a mac newbie. The partitioning seemed to go O.K and installing the XP was really easy - so I should have suspected trouble was looming!

Windows installed O.K but there were problems when I then tried to install the BootCamp drivers. I got error messages saying that the windows installer needed updating.

This leaves me unable to boot out of Windows and switch back to Mac. Even if I start up with my finger on the alt button, it goes straight to Windows. I have also tried booting up with an external firewire drive attached (with has OS installed) but, again, the alt key won't give me the option of switching to it. I've tried booting up with the Snow disc in the disc drive holding down the C key. It goes straight into windows.

I thought my XP disc included SP2, but now I suspect it doesn't. Its a really old disc. I downloaded SP2 on my other machine, burned it to a cd and tried to install it on the windows machine. I get an error message saying that there isn't enough space to install it, it needs 4mb more (weird?).

I have tried going into the snow disc from within windows and installing the drivers separately, but it won't work. Same error message.

I have tried changing the start up disc in Windows by going to control panels, system, start-up, but there is only one option listed in the 'default start up' list and that's windows.

I suspect the alt key might not work because windows doesn't recognise the keyboard properly?

Can anyone help me escape windows? I suspect there's something *really* simple I'm missing here.