Bootcamp update - 5K Windows on all 5K iMacs

Discussion in 'iMac' started by aevan, Nov 20, 2015.

  1. aevan macrumors 68020

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #1
    New Bootcamp update - Windows 10 is finally usable in full 5K on my Late 2014 iMac 5K (M290X GPU). Previously, 5K in Windows was only available for the new 2015 5K iMacs.

    Also, fixes the bug where right click wouldn't work on my Magic Trackpad 2 in Windows 10.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. thephased macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #2
    I got the notification for the update as well. I have the M295X GPU and after the update, 5k worked, but I was unable to switch back to 4k and lower resolutions as all landscape resolutions became portrait resolutions (if this makes sense). Landscape is not an option in catalyst control center under these new drivers. Only Portrait, Landscape (flipped, and Portrait (flipped). I tried everything to get it to work and couldn't come up with anything. Games were also messed up at 1440p resolution for instance.

    I uninstalled all the Radeon drivers using DDU in safe mode so everything was clean. And tried the new drivers again. Same thing. I can't figure out a way to uninstall the Bootcamp drivers altogether either. I'd like to be able to try that. I will try to download the latest bootcamp drivers from 10.11 and repair them in windows.

    I reverted back to the old driver. Maybe on a fresh Windows 10 install these new drivers would work.

    It's a bit upsetting as the software driver revision is slightly newer. I wonder if there were any other fixes/performance enhancements. I wish apple gave us bootcamp changelogs.

    Does anyone else have the problem/s I mentioned above?
     
  3. aevan thread starter macrumors 68020

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #3
    I don't have that issue with lower resolutions. But I have the M290X.
     
  4. thephased macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #4
    That's good that it works just fine for you. Thanks for letting me know about the resolutions. I uninstalled the old bootcamp drivers again and downloaded the bootcamp drivers from bootcamp assist, but they're the same display drivers as the old bootcamp drivers. No 5k yet on them. I checked apple software update, but the new bootcamp drivers don't show, however they show as already installed in the history log. Hmmm.

    Does the 5k scale well for you in windows 10? As well as 4k if not better?

    And can anyone comment here who has a M295X GPU with these updated drivers?
     
  5. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    I have the M295X, and there's no update for me in Windows 8.1. I'd be using Windows 10 if I could make it work on an external Thunderbolt SSD like Windows 8.1 does flawlessly...
     
  6. aevan thread starter macrumors 68020

    aevan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Serbia
    #6
    Windows scales well, with UI set to 200%, it's almost like OS X. Apps however - a different story. Some apps, like Photoshop, support hidpi screens and look great, but others (most of them) look really tiny and bad. Even worse than non-retina apps in OS X (at least they are usable in OS X).
     
  7. hfg, Nov 20, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2015

    hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    I did the BootCamp 6 driver update on my 2014 RiMac with M295X and now have 5K resolution in Windows 10. The update comes with Apple Update, not Windows Update. You can force the updater to load by running the Apple Updater from installed apps. Mine was a 256MB download and required a reboot.
     
  8. thephased macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #8
    I'm sorry the update isn't showing for you. It shouldn't be too long for the new bootcamp drivers to be available in bootcamp assist (I would think). As of today bootcamp assist downloaded the now old bootcamp drivers for my 2014 Retina iMac M295X.

    I wonder why Windows 10 won't boot on a Thundbolt SSD. I have heard of problems thunderbolt booting non-osx OSs, but I've heard the newer iMacs and some enclosures have solved the problem. Speaking of thunderbolt, what external thunderbolt enclosure to you use for your SSD? I just purchased an OWC Thunderbay 4 Mini and I'm getting the same not so great speeds as my Seagate Thunderbolt (2.5in) Adapter with the same SSD and others I've purchased to test. I'm torn whether to keep it or not. I realize this is off topic, but I'm really curious.

    That's what I found as well. I was let down that chrome didn't scale well and that was text blurry where at 4k (even with zooming) everything looks really good. I wanted to go back to 4k immediately with the new drivers so maybe it's best I can't even get them to work right now or have them in the first place haha

    I honestly don't think Apple Software Update will re-download the bootcamp update for me because it's already in the history log and I can't find a way to clear the log and uninstalling/re-installing the app doesn't do anything for me. I've tried locating logs with some success. Deleting them doesn't solve the problem. And I found one bootcamp.exe installer left over from the updater, but nothing containing the display drivers.

    I'm glad the update came through for you. 5k worked here too, I just had problems changing to any other resolution. Does changing resolutions work okay for you? Do you think you could test it if you haven't already?
     
  9. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #9
    Hi WilliamG,
    I did get Windows 10 working on an external Thunderbolt SSD on both of my iMacs eventually using LaCie Rugged Thunderbolt enclosures as well as ThunderBay 4 and Thunderbay Mini enclosures. The Windows 10 installer would not upgrade my external 8.1 installation, so I had to use WinClone to move it to the internal SSD and then move it back after the update and activation was complete. On the recent 1511 Windows 10 update, I had no problem with the external SSD on the 2012 iMac doing the update. However, I has the same problems with the 2014 5K iMac doing this massive update as I did with the initial Windows 10 install ... and eventually again moved it to the internal SSD to perform the update. As of now, I have not moved it back to the external Thunderbay hosted SSD yet as I am contemplating the risk of this again happening on the next update as opposed to just leaving it on the internal SSD. Small updates worked fine on the external SSDs, but the installer for the big ones seemed to have problems with just anything but a minimum standard configuration of drives.

    I also have Windows 10 running in my 5,1 Mac Pro on a Velocity DUO PCI card SSD which is considered "external" since it is on the PCI bus. No problems with the 1511 Windows 10 update here either.
     
  10. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    I'm using a Seagate Backup Plus 2.5" enclosure with a 1TB Samsung 850 Pro.


    Thank you for the update.

    I spent hours trying to make it work. I did like I had always done with Windows 8 and 8.1. Installed via Boot Camp Assistant, and then used WinClone to put it on the external SSD. Just won't finish booting correctly in Windows 10. Yes, it won't update Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 on an external SSD/Thunderbolt. But I couldn't get it to work even after updating the internal disk and cloning. Not sure what I'm missing, or if it's maybe the Seagate Backup Plus Thunderbolt enclosure that's incompatible?
     
  11. Laai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Same issue here on late 2015 5K iMac i5 and R395M GFX Card. I reinstalled Windows 8 in clean install and started from scratch, still the same issue. I am not changing my resolution in windows again. Lets hope Apple updates drivers (sometime between today and christmas eve of 2016) and fixes the issue.
     
  12. jerwin macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #12
    Yay. 5k on my m290x. Now to figure out how to combine a 5k display and a smaller, 1080p display without going mad from the process. It's so simple on a mac...
     
  13. thephased macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #13
    I'm sorry to hear Laai. It doesn't look good on apple that your 2015 iMac with a very similar GPU to the one in mine (the M395X is a re-branding of the M295X with some performance improvements) is having this problem too. hfg has the M295X setup and has said they can change resolutions without a problem. System to system? Very strange that this would be a problem on the latest maxed out GPU iMac. My first thought was this is just a M295X problem. I hope this gets fixed soon as well.

    Does anyone think if it's worth reporting display driver the issue to apple? I mean, of course I care, but do you think it has any chance of going up the chain of command?
     
  14. Marciano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #14
    All good on my 2014 5k iMac. Actually, all great! The only issue is with Chrome---there are rendering issues with some websites, including many Google properties unfortunately (Gmail, Calendar, Drive). Hopefully these will be fixed at some point. But, between the 5k resolution and the ExtraMagic driver, Win10 is a perfectly good alternative to OS X.
     
  15. distefano macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #15
    I received the updated iMac 5K driver through the Apple update software in Bootcamp and auto magically the resolution bumped to 5K - Great!

    BUT - then i received the Microsoft 10586 updated build and after the upgrade process got "downgraded" to 4K again.

    Can't figure out how / where to find the native drivers or way to reinstall the update...
     
  16. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #16
    aevan, I might have asked this before in a different thread but what is your overall impression on using Windows 10 in bootcamp on a 1 TB Fusion drive? How much space do you have Windows partitioned on?

    My only concern with bootcamp is I have a 2014 1 TB Fusion drive model and didn't want the slowness of having Windows on the HD portion. That was my only concern when buying a Fusion drive over an SSD(I want for the Fusion because of a sale and it was so much cheaper at the time). I haven't seen any good ideas on installing windows on the 128 GB portion.
     
  17. Laai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #17
    Just FYI: after installing Assassins Creed Syndicate, each time I start the game, I get a message saying that my driver is too old and that I should update to the newest catalyst driver (Late 2015 5K iMac with R9 M395X). I hope that R9 M29X cards got the latest update, but newer machines have not. APPLE PLEASE LET US UPDATE CATALYST DRIVERS LIKE YOU DO WITH NVIDIA!
     
  18. vailr macrumors regular

    vailr

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #18
    I was wondering whether anyone has been able to compile (or somehow obtain) a detailed component list of the system device drivers in one of the new Skylake 27" iMacs?
    If you're able to run Windows 8.1 or 10 in Boot Camp mode, I'd be interested in seeing screen shots of Windows System Information, CPU-Z, and Windows Device Manager.
    Particularly interested in device & driver details for the LAN & motherboard/logic board chipsets, & USB 3.0;
    Device Manager/System Devices screen shot.
    Thanks in advance.
    Link to CPU-Z: http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/cpu_z.html
     
  19. jsawy3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #19
    I had the same issue. I found the update was still sitting happily on my hard drive, although well hidden. Check out:

    C:\Users\<You>\AppData\Local\Apple\Apple Software Update

    Hopefully you'll find "AppleBcUpdate.exe"

    Good Hunting
     
  20. UniDoubleU macrumors regular

    UniDoubleU

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Location:
    Thailand
    #20
    I seem to have the exact same issue, have you found a solution to this?
     
  21. paelzersebbi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Mainz, Germany
    #21
    I got the new driver that enables 5K on Windows 10 1511 (latest build) and as soon as I install the newest driver, I cannot open explorer.exe and control panel anymore. I always have to go back to an earlier driver (trough device manager). It is really frustrating, that AMD does not include the driver in their Catalyst/Crimson suite...
     
  22. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #22
    I still am hosting Windows on the internal SSD due to the problems described in the previous post regarding the 5K iMac. I don't know why the second update issue didn't affect the 2012 iMac, which I still have running Windows from the external Thunderbolt SSD in a LaCie "Rugged" enclosure.
     
  23. stuepfnick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    #23
    Has anyone the Bootcamp update from late 2015? Sadly it is not available anymore, but I REALLY need it to get 5k resolution in Windows 8.1 - I once had it, but had to re-install windows, which brought me back to max. 4k.
    Who could know, that that gorgeous driver would be removed silently?

    And today the 5k driver is only available for Win 10. AFAIK the driver AMD driver version was: 15.201.2001-15005a-295390C - usually located in: "C:AMD/".

    If I once get that driver back, I will share with everyone! Maybe someone can help PLEASE?
     
  24. Prizm4 macrumors newbie

    Prizm4

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    #24
    Just a shot in the dark, but maybe bootcampdrivers.com has something?
     

Share This Page