BOOTCAMP use TRIM if SSD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bushman4, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. bushman4 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #1
    Does the New Imac 27" BTO use TRIM if it has an SSD when you are using Bootcamp???? or is TRIM only used on the IOS partition.
     
  2. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #2
    Isn't that sort of thing down to the OS? If you're using Win 7 it should be applying it by default on that partition, as far as I'm aware.
     
  3. ChazB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    TRIM is OS dependant. That said; if your SSD has a SanForce controller its internal garbage collection negates the need for TRIM so you don't need to worry about it at the OS level. Right now; OSX only supports TRIM on Apple (Toshiba) SSDs. Windows 7 supports TRIM on all SSDs.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Bootcamp only provides the drivers and the Ability to boot into windows. Its windows that has the TRIM support and only for the windows partition.
     
  5. 88 King macrumors 6502

    88 King

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Here is a quick way to find out if trim is enabled on windows partition:

    Go to Start --> All Programmers --> Accessories --> Command Prompt, right click and select Run as Administrator.

    Type:

    fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify

    If the output are:

    DisableDeleteNotify = 1 (Windows TRIM commands are disabled)
    DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)
     
  6. bushman4 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #6
    Outputs you mentioned are NOT there.
    Appreciate everyones help. I just can't figure it out.
     
  7. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #7
    The correct path to the command prompt is:

    Go to Start --> All Programs --> Accessories --> Command Prompt, right click and select Run as Administrator.

    Assuming you found that; did you open the Windows command prompt by right clicking on the icon and selecting "Run as Administrator" and type this command exactly?

    fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify

    It works on every Windows 7 system I've tested. Which version are you running Home Prem, Professional, Ultimate 32 or 64 bit?

    Cheers,
     
  8. bushman4 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #8
    Got it, Thanks
     
  9. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Sorry to revive this thread but all still relevant I think.

    I found it because I have same concern about Windows 7 Trim operating in Bootcamp.

    My belief, from a lot of reading, is that Trim only works in AHCI mode, and that Bootcamp doesn't support AHCI mode.

    I just tried the method in this thread for checking and got disabledeletenotify=0, so it is working, on my Crucial M4 (which supports Trim)

    Am I right about this?

    What about all the AHCI stuff?

    Thanks
     
  10. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Think maybe I understand.....

    disabledeletenotify=0 confirms Windows 7 is sending the Trim commands to the disk controller...BUT

    the disk controller won't action them unless running in AHCI mode (not IDE, as Bootcamp)

    Has the ring of truth in that it reconciles all the info I have.

    Anyone confirm?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page