BootCamp walkthrough

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Macgic, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. Macgic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #1
    I just updated to leopard and am now trying to get windows setup using bootcamp. If someone could give me a waklthrough or some kinda help that would be great. i am trying to follow the help that apple provides but my screen doesnt seem to look like theirs. this is what my screen looks like. then when i click the top option then continue i get the other picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #3
    i am using a .jpg format now lets see if that works. :)
     
  4. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #4
    its not accepting them. any thoughts on how to show a picture???
     
  5. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #5
    Do get an option to specify the size of the Windows partition?
     
  6. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #6
    I just changed the extension on your attached pdf's to .jpg
     
  7. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #7
    no. try changing the file extension to jpg to view what i see.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Have you used Boot Camp before?

    It's trying to restore to a single partition.
     
  9. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #9
    no....thats my problem.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I'd check in Disk Utility to see if you have any partitions besides this one.
     
  11. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #11
    i have two one is my leopard OS, and i have no idea what the other one is but it has 300Gbs on it.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    How big is your hard drive?

    What is the format of the second partition?
     
  13. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #13

    120. Windows NT File System (NTFS). this might be from me trying earlier???
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    And you didn't use Boot Camp? :rolleyes:

    I'd give the Windows installer another try if there's already sufficient drive space set up for it.
     
  15. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #16
    If your drive is only 120GB, how can you have a partition with 300GB on it? :confused:
     
  16. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #17
    i havent ever used i had a friend try for me. but i didnt have a good copy of windows at the time. he tried this summer using the beta. i just got the leopard version of it and i cant figure out what to do from the beginning. so i basically need to know how to start this thing.
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    Hit the Windows installer check box this time since you already have the space set up or restore your drive to one partition.

    After that slice your drive up the way you like it.
     
  18. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #19
    my leopard os is using only 80 gigs. i dont know how this happened but since i got this computer a year ago i have always only had 80 gigs useable. i had a friend set up my computer. so i dont know what the F*** he did.
     
  19. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #20
  20. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    It sounds like you have 80 GB for OS X and the remaining ~30 for Windows.

    It makes sense for a 120 GB hard drive.

    Is 30 GB enough for what you need to do in Windows?
     
  21. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #22
    yes should be plenty
     
  22. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #23
    Unless you start loading games up! :p
     
  23. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #24
    ok i just tried again i put it on the 30 Gig partition. i just got an error message saying "windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
    <windows root>\system32\hal.dll.
    Please re-install a copy of the above file."


    anyone else getting this or did i just mess up somewhere?
     

Share This Page