Bootcamp Will Not Boot

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Washac, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. Washac, Oct 7, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2016

    Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Not used Bootcamp for sometime which was working last time I booted it up.

    Tried to boot into Bootcamp today but got a bless fail no matter how I tried to boot into it, message below is
    from Bootchamp.
    ---------------------------------------
    Bless failed:

    EFI found at IODeviceTree:/efi
    Mount point for /Volumes/BOOTCAMP is /Volumes/BOOTCAMP
    Mount point is '/Volumes/BOOTCAMP'
    No BootX creation requested
    No boot.efi creation requested
    Firmware feature mask: 0x000003FF
    Firmware features: 0x00000014
    Legacy mode NOT suppported
    Legacy mode not supported on this system
    ---------------------------------------

    The Bootcamp partition is on a a drive which contains El Capitan.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Bootchamp does not work with SIP, so Yosemite is the last fully supported operating system for it. It will work under El Capitan, but you have to disable SIP. SIP prevents use of the bless command.

    The developer abandoned BootChamp after Apple implemented SIP, so its days are numbered. You might want to look into alternatives.
     
  3. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #3
    Yep. The dev hasn't updated BootChamp in over a year. But yes, disabling SIP should do the trick.
     
  4. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    I solved the issue by doing a PRAM reset, all works again now under Elcapitan, and I do not recall disabling SIP, how can I find out if SIP is disabled ?
     
  5. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #5
    In Terminal, type csrutil status then click enter. That will let you know if it's enabled or disabled.
     
  6. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6
    SIP is enabled and it all works after doing the PRAM reset.
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    Well that's really interesting news. The BootChamp developer himself says that it won't work with SIP enabled, and literally stopped development because of that.
     
  8. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #8
    Maybe he was just looking for an excuse to quit.
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
  10. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #10
  11. hartleymartin macrumors regular

    hartleymartin

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    What is SIP and what happens when you disable it?
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    This article has a pretty good - and short - explanation about SIP.

    Most folks here will tell you that they may disable SIP for specific purposes (installing some apps that won't install with it enabled, for example), then re-enable SIP after the task is complete.
     
  13. hartleymartin macrumors regular

    hartleymartin

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    For some reason, it causes absolutely no problems with Boot-Champ on my Mac Pro 3,1 but causes heaps of problems on my Mac Pro 1,1...
     

Share This Page