Bootcamp Win10 external hdd block size?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by filozione, Dec 16, 2016.

  1. filozione macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    #1
    Hello,

    I just wanna move my Bootcamp Partition from my late 2016 tMBP to an external Samsung T3 500GB.
    So, I already tried Winclone for this. Now my problem is, that the late 2016 tMBP has a device block size of 4096 and the Samsung T3 only has a device block size of 512. So this couldn't work.

    The question is: is there any way to modify the device block size from the Samsung T3 up to 4096?
    Or should I buy an SSD enclosure with any other SSD inside which supports 4K?


    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Generally speaking, changing the device block size for ANY device requires a reformat - in macOS or Windows. So give that a try first (make SURE you save anything you need on that drive, though!)
     
  3. cis4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #3
    I'm having the same issue with the T3. Did you ever get this working? If so, how?
     
  4. filozione thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    #4
    No, i didn't. I think the problem is the ssd controller, which is setting the block size.
    The support of winclone confirmed this. They gave me the advice to buy an external enclouser / ssd with 4k support.
    But searching for this gaves me no result.

    I am wondering about this, that nobody else tried this or have the same issue.
     

Share This Page