Bootcamp Win7 Optibay

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Oder, Feb 22, 2018.

  1. Oder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    #1
    Hello,

    Recently got an optibay and added a new hdd to my macbook pro (mid 2012) so i could use it for Win7, after many problems managed to install windows on secondary hdd (optibay) and could only make this happen when first hdd was physically removed from macbook and like this i could boot windows and use it normally but when adding back the main hdd can only boot to mac osx and when trying to boot windows system I'm greeted with the black background and underscore blinking, any help would be really appreciated.
     
  2. Sincci macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    The only way to get it working is to install the Windows HDD in the main HDD slot and the OS X HDD in the optibay. You also might need to reinstall Windows after you have swapped the HDD's around, but there shouldn't be a need to reinstall OS X.

    There shouldn't be any disadvantages in having your HDD's in that configuration since OS X doesn't seem to care about the HDD slot at all. In fact, OS X would boot just fine even if that HDD was connected to your Mac in some USB enclosure.
     
  3. Oder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    #3
    Thank you for the reply, placing the osx hdd on optibay wouldn't make it less responsive cause of data speeds?
     
  4. Sincci macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Both slots should be SATA 3 in 2012 Macbook Pro.
     
  5. Oder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    #5
    Unfortunately the optical drives SATA port its half way between SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) and SATA III (6.0 Gb/s).
     

Share This Page

4 February 22, 2018