Bootcamp Win7 Retina iMac - Help Pls

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by intz2nu, Apr 30, 2015.

  1. intz2nu macrumors 6502

    intz2nu

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #1
    I just now got a chance to install Win7 using Bootcamp on my new Retina iMac and have some questions regarding a few things. Every minute or so I see the loading wheel thingy on my mouse arrow like as if something is trying to load or maybe downloading (maybe somethings running in the background causing this?) I also wanted to know if this is something to do with that AMD Catalyst Control Center thing and if theres anyway to make it stop.

    My other question is upon Bootcamp the welcome screen flashes like twice and it doesn't fill the entire screen I get what I would describe a black frame around it so basically the welcome screen is a bit small and not filling the entire size of the screen. However when the desktop loads everything is normal size.

    My third and final question is regarding playing 4K content on youtube. I tried to select 4K for a few clips on youtube and it looks like it seems to stop loading after a bit and I'm never able to watch / view / play the clip in the selected 4K content. I have yet to try it out while booted into OS X.

    Any and all help regarding these issues would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Windows 7 doesn't support HiDPI/retina displays well.

    I have Windows 8.1 on my retina iMac and don't face such problems.
     
  3. intz2nu thread starter macrumors 6502

    intz2nu

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #3
    Sorry I don't get what you're saying could you explain a little more? this is all a bit new for me coming from a mid 2010 27" iMac that I ran Win7 through bootcamp with as well.
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    Windows 7 doesn't handle retina displays well, because its support for scaling every UI element to 200% is practically nonexistent.

    If you want to run Windows on a Mac with a retina display, you will need Windows 8.
     
  5. intz2nu thread starter macrumors 6502

    intz2nu

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #5
    I've been afraid to try Win8 ever since I read and heard about it. Do you know if Bootcamp will work with Win8.1?
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    I don't get why people hate Windows 8.1 so much. It's smooth and more stable than Windows 7 for me.

    Boot Camp will work far better with 8.1 than with 7.
     
  7. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #7
    You can completely bypass the Metro interface and boot to a desktop just like you can with Windows 7. Windows 8.1 runs great even on a non-Retina Mac.
     
  8. intz2nu thread starter macrumors 6502

    intz2nu

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #8
    is it hard to get the original look and feel most are used to with Win7 with Win8.1 or is it just some playing with the settings to give it the more traditional Win7 feel with the common start menu etc? or does it require a good bit of know how to get it like that?

    Also the thing i refer to with the little loading wheel that goes near the mouse arrow is that something to do with the AMD Catalyst Control Center? at the momment its all i can think of given it seems to be the only thing running I'm just guessing it runs in the background or something? also if this is indeed the case will this also happen on Win8.1 ?
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    Why not just get used to the look and feel of Windows 8.1? I don't get what's so hard about getting used to it.
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #10
    Because Metro sucks, even on a tablet/touchscreen.

    In order to get the "old" Windows start menu back, you need to install a 3rd party program. I use StartIsBack myself, but there are others. The software replicates the Windows 7 start menu with 100% accuracy, and you can configure it exactly as you've used it in previous versions of Windows.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    It only sucks because you think it sucks, or because you refuse to adapt to change and/or learn something new.
     

Share This Page