BOOTCAMP windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tbird75, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. tbird75 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    #1
    I have a mac pro 15" also bought windows 8 from the net. Need to download it. With a mac how do I download the copy of windows to start bootcamp?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Is there an option to download the ISO or is it done from an installer?
     
  3. tbird75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    #3
    I do believe it’s an installer. The file info windows8 setup.exe
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    If there's no option to download the ISO, then you'll need to find a windows PC to download it. I believe when I bought win7, I used a windows PC because of the installer and what was downloaded was a full ISO.
     
  5. tbird75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    #5
    can i put it on an ext hard drive then run bootcamp
     
  6. jwjsr macrumors 6502

    jwjsr

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Fairhope, Alabama
    #6
    I would think so, I did it with a USB stick
     
  7. tbird75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    #7
    Ok I have windows 8 on my mac pro. But i'm cant connect to the internet on the windows side, mac side works fine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. jwjsr macrumors 6502

    jwjsr

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Fairhope, Alabama
    #8
    Top right can you find network in win8? Or network settings

    ----------

    Or maybe it's close to that little flag in the bottom right . I'm not at my computer
     
  9. jwjsr macrumors 6502

    jwjsr

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Fairhope, Alabama
    #9
    When you installed win8 didn't bootcamp make you download some drivers?
     
  10. tbird75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    #10
    Yes it did, I figured it out. I had to install the drivers from the flash drive. I figured it would happen automatic but it didn't. works great now. Thanks for the help :D
     

Share This Page