BootCamp Windows License confusion

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by gobikerider, Mar 8, 2018.

  1. gobikerider Suspended

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Hi I want to install Windows 10 through Bootcamp on my MacBook. My question is wether or not I have the right to do that with my existing copy of Windows 10 Home, or if I need to buy a whole new copy of Windows 10 to use it in a VM. To simplify Does Windows 10 include rights to run both on a local machine (gaming pc in my case) but also a virtualized copy (for my Mac)? Or does Microsoft expect another $130
     
  2. MacDawg, Mar 8, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2018

    MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    If your VM software is Fusion or Parallels, you will be able to access your Bootcamp install

    Edit: It looks like you want Windows on a separate PC and a Mac, but you mentioned Bootcamp and VM. If it is on 2 separate machines hardware, yes you will need 2 copies. If you Bootcamp and run Virtualization (Fusion/Parallels) you can install once and access it by Bootcamp and by VM.
     
  3. slooksterPSV macrumors 68040

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #3
    Licensing restrictions limit to one pc. You also cannot transfer a license. You could use a Remote Desktop took such as teamviewer to access your pc but it has to be on.
     
  4. gobikerider thread starter Suspended

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Darn it
    --- Post Merged, Mar 8, 2018 ---
    Thanks for your clarification...would there be any downside to running Windows and just it being non activated ?
     
  5. ACD0236 macrumors member

    ACD0236

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5
    I'm not sure if I fully understand your issue, but if you have a Mac and a Windows PC:
    - if the PC came with Windows the license is probably tied to that machine (the manufacturers pay less for a copy of Windows than we do, but that copy is limited in the sense that it will work only on that machine);
    - if you have purchased a copy of Windows 10 Home and you installed it on a PC, and now you want to use Windows on your Mac via Bootcamp, you can transfer the license to the new installation and remove the activation from the previous PC;
    - if you have a Windows 10 PC which you want to continue running and you want to add another installation of Windows in Bootcamp, you will need to purchase a new copy of Windows;
    - once you have a dual booting Mac with macOS on one side and Windows on the other side, you can use VMWare Fusion to run your Windows partition as a virtual machine (I haven't ever done it so I can't be more informative about this).

    One license = one installation. You can transfer it between if you purchased it on your own, you generally can't if Windows came preinstalled in a PC you bought.

    I don't know about inactivated copies of Windows. Sure, they do run, but I don't know which are the limitations.

    For further information in this article you have a pretty comprehensive explanation of the various scenarios: https://www.howtogeek.com/261053/when-can-you-move-a-windows-license-to-a-new-pc/.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Although prior to Windows 10, Windows would stop working after 30 days if the activation was not complete, Windows 10 can run (forever, I think) without any activation, although you will find that you can't customize the system, such as changing the wallpaper, and other appearance settings. I have only limited experience with using Windows 10, but have not ever activated the install - and have not had any issue with the variety of apps that I use. Just can't change how the system looks, and other customization, along with a constant reminder on the desktop that "Windows is not activated" That doesn't bother me at all, but some users would want to purchase a license in that situation.
     
  7. goutamrohit36 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    #7
    I also facing the same problem I use. Just can't change how the system looks, and other customization, along with a constant reminder on the desktop that "Windows is not activated" That doesn't bother me at all, HP Customer Service Number but some users would want to purchase a license in that situation.
     

Share This Page

6 March 8, 2018