Bootcamp with academic upgrade possible?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by suspect9, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. suspect9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #1
    Hello All

    I can get a copy of vista home premium academic upgrade with sp1. Is is possible to run bootcamp of this version? (I assume you can not)

    Thanks
     
  2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #2
    Is it a full install or just an upgrade? The latter will not work, but the former will.
     
  3. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Needs to be a full copy. You will have to first install a full copy of Windows and once that is up and running fully, you can then pop in that upgrade disk and use it..
     
  4. suspect9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #4
    I have some strange things about the academic upgrade. You can do a fresh install of vista as a 'trial'. Then you install the upgrade on the disc (basically install twice using difference methods).

    Thanks People
     
  5. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    You do this at your own risk. This could be considered a breach of Microsoft's EULA. An upgrade is just that, means you already have a legal copy of Windows installed and are upgrading (at the cheaper price for the upgrade disk) from the previous version.

    Not trying to be a jerk, just letting you know what you are doing could be considered illegal. Of course I am sure this will be debated.. (just foreshadowing) :D
     

Share This Page