BootCamp with Parallels 10.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Baunkjaer, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #1
    Yesterday I upgraded my BootCamp drive 120GB > 240GB Kingston V300. I tried WinClone from BootCamp, but that did´t work.
    So I reinstalled BootCamp and Windows 8,1 Pro on the new drive. It all runs well from BootCamp, but I can´t get Parallels to work. It worked like a charm with the old drive.
    I´ve tried the advice mentioned here:
    http://kb.parallels.com/en/116582
    But I´m still getting this, when I try to create the VM :( Skærmbillede 2015-07-08 22.39.04.png
    Help and good ideas are very welcome, thanks.
     
  2. ghislain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #2
    Log in to windows is just required to install parallels tools. May be you can just quit parallels and then try to boot again on the virtual machine you just created...
     
  3. Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #3
    I don´t get access to Windows through Parallels. It looks normal when I start the program, but when I hit the "start", it tries to do it´s things, and I end up with something like ss in my first post. Skærmbillede 2015-07-11 12.22.05.png
     
  4. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #4
    @Baunkjaer

    Are you using the legacy bios boot or newer EFI? Please try this and report back.

    1. Click on the middle icon on the Control Center Windows just below the double O below the word Boot.
    2. Under Hardware tab, select Boot Order on the left side.
    3. Now, Boot order should be Hard Disk first (deselect the others)
    4. Deselect/Uncheck "Use EFI Boot"
    5. Under Hardware tab, select hard Disk 1 on the left side.
    6. Select your boot camp disk on the right side and edit partition to select both system and disk (Windows normally will create 2-3 partitions on the same disk where you install Windows OS).
     
  5. Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #5
    The fix mentioned in #0 enables EFI, so I guess, that´s what I´m using...
    Following your little guide, ended up with the same result as earlier :(
     
  6. ghislain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #6
    Following Baunkjaer suggestion, when you edit partition on hard disk where is your bootcamp partition, just select this partition, not any other partition, including efi partition..Good luck..
     
  7. Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
  8. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #8
    @Baunkjaer

    1. Select EFI partition on the first picture.
    2. Uncheck use EFI Boot on the second picture.

    (Follow Post #4)
     
  9. shujnparo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
  10. Baunkjaer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #10
    @kennyman Tried to help via TeamViewer. Unfortunately with no luck. So I´m still stuck.
     

Share This Page