Bootcamp XP issues

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jaskm26, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. jaskm26 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #1
    Hi all.

    Just have a few issues regarding Bootcamp in Imac & XP.

    I ran through most of the steps as per Apple doc's , But the following happens.

    After windows is installed a Blue screen appears with cursor on screen but it freezes completely.
    I can fix this by restarting my mac , then once windows restarts i insert the Mac OS disc , select the disc within my computer but the following message appears:
    "Package requires new version of installer"
    "would you like to search for update now"
    I click yes but then it says "update missing"
    Can anyone assist with this issue.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Are you using XP Service Pack 2 or higher?

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. jaskm26 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #3
    ...

    Well i tried with XP home edition , & also tried with the SP2 , however as you may have already guessed , it is just a service pack edition.

    After some searching i gather i must use either:

    WINDOWS XP SP2 OME
    OR
    WINDOWS VISTA (GENERAL EDITION)

    Is this correct from what you know about Bootcamp?
    Appreciate your assistance.
    cheers
     
  4. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #4
    yeah, you have to use XP2 OME or Vista. I had to use Windows 7 RC1 because XP wouldnt install.
     
  5. jaskm26 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #5
    Ahh ok.

    Well i am getting a copy of XP sp2 tomorrow , so i will try that & see how i go.

    Good to know windows 7 works as well if need be.....

    cheers , cheers
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    Won't slipstreaming XP SP2 to Home Edition work?"
     
  7. jaskm26 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #7
    Yes i think Slip will work , but i never tried.
    however just put XP sp3 & it works fine.
    i love the fact i can now play my few select games on a far better machine..
    cheers for your help people's...
     
  8. dundalkholly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #8
    xp sp2 32 bit wont update !!

    herrow-
    ive bootcamped xp on my mac,
    i have the sp3 disk
    however when sp3 was installing upto 3 files would not install.
    so i let the install finnish and as u can guess i was only running sp2 when i checked.
    i then tried windows update and i couldnt even log on to microsofts home page let alone update windows.
    any ideas on whats goin wrong for me?

    thanks for any help
     
  9. tomllama macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    I have XP running on my MacPro 1,1 with 10.5.8 (boot camp 2.1) and on my MacBookPro 3,1 with 10.6.2 (boot camp 3.1). My XP install disk is SP2.

    For my MP with 10.5.8: You can't install SP3 onto BC 2.0, so I installed BC 2.0, then SP2, then the BC 2.1 update and then let XP auto-update to SP3 and all worked fine.

    I did the same thing on the MBP with 10.6.2 and used BC 3.0 first, installed SP2, then tried to update to BC 3.1 (which I think failed). IIRC I then let XP auto-update to SP3 and while it was at first flaky, I was able to then install the BC 3.1 update and all appears to be running well.
     

Share This Page