Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by macwhack, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. macwhack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #1
    I had a computer with Tiger and Windows XP installed on it. I upgraded my tiger to leopard. NO PROBLEMS so far.....
    Then I use the upgrade DVD to install the latest bootcamp drivers from the DVD and now I cannot increase or decrease the brightness, the volume. Everything else seems fine. Havent tried everything else though ....
    What is the problem ? My volume and brightness weren't a problem before.

    Thanks
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    My guess is that if you take a look in the Windows Device Manager you'll have a few yellow circles containing question marks, which denotes a misinstalled driver. If there are, remove them then search for new devices again. Providing the Boot Camp drivers loaded successfully, Windows should then pick them up.
     
  3. macwhack thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #3
    THanks but I already checked the device manager and there aren't any yellow things there...
    What else should i look for ....
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Try reinstalling the drivers from the leopard dvd
     
  5. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #5
    How about the Boot Camp applet in Control Panel? Any clues in there (sorry, I'm in OSX at the moment and can't reboot to check mine)?
     
  6. macwhack thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #6
    I did reinstall the drivers.....
    In the bootcamp applet .. in the keyboard tab the " use F1-F12" is marked but the volume still cannot be adjusted...
     
  7. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #7
    Is is marked to use for software or hardware? I think it needs to be unselected to use it for hardware features.
     
  8. macwhack thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #8
    it is unmarked by default... i just checked it ........ still no success :(
     
  9. macwhack thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #9
    I have tried re-installing the bootcamp drivers but while installation there is a small popup in the tray saying that some driver could not be installed successfully.... but when i check the device manager... it is perfect.. and the volume and brightness are still not working :mad:
     
  10. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #10
    I just looked through the help section, and it states that the screen brightness controls is for a portable Mac... doesnt mention anything about desktops.

    Out of interest, are you using a wired apple keyboard?
     
  11. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #11
    The screen brightness control works on any Mac with an integrated display. It definitely works on my iMac for instance.

    If I were you macwhack, I would remove the Apple keyboard in Device Manager and allow the system to refind them. Make sure you leave the mouse though :)
     

Share This Page