booting from CD Rom- Linux *pics*

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacBookLover, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. MacBookLover macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I just got a new powerbook g4 laptop. Came with no OS.

    I have been trying to load Ubuntu (linux) and I can't seem to boot it from a cd.

    the cd is a burned .iso file.

    I have tryed holding down C , as well as many other tricks...

    Once it's on it comes to a screen with a little folder in the middle. and has the apple logo looking face and it flips to a question mark as seen in the pictures below.


    Anyone know how I can load this or what?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    1. you downloaded ppc version?
    2. As I understand, there is problem of Ubuntu with iMac G4, but thats a one year old information...
     
  3. MacBookLover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #3
    well I downloaded:

    Ubuntu 7.10 - Supported to 2009
    64bit AMD and Intel computers

    is this wrong?

    Like it wont even load from a CD....

    I just want to load linux to make sure the laptop works before spending 130 on mac OS software...

    Let me know
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    if its a G4, you need PPC version of the linux, i386, i586, amd64 are all not working with PPC mac.

    Im not sure if ubuntu still offers it since apple switched to intel chip

    try other liveCD distroes, such as fedora core, etc.
    http://fedoraproject.org/get-fedora

    try download live media of fedora 8
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Here is an Ubuntu distro for PPC.

    You'll find the Apple (G4 / G5) download links there.
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    no, OP only want to boot into system and see if computer works. that alternative install CD is not LiveCD, rather, it has to be installed.

    But yes, OP can try that "desktop CD" for G4 on that page.
     
  7. wightstraker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #7
    Make sure you actually mount the iso on the CD before you burn it; I forget that detail pretty often.
     
  8. MacBookLover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #8
    i am downloading PPC version now..

    ill let you know if this works...
     
  9. MacBookLover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #9
    I think its loading but idk? the face and the ? mark keeps flashing then u can hear the CD then the screen flashes for a sec.. then does it all over again..

    BUT i did read the help notes and stuff on the cd..
     
  10. MacBookLover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #10
    I actually could see Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon) the start screen where you pic what you want to load.. thats it. If i click on live- powerpc or whatever the screen turns to all lines that are flashing kinda..


    I tryed fedora but it wont run from the cd?

    anything else?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    It might be a video driver issue if it's a PowerBook with an ATi video card. I had to swap from a Radeon 9800 to a Rage 128 to get Ubuntu PowerPC to boot on my Power Mac G4.

    Even so their aren't that many precompiled binaries in synaptic anymore.

    Remember that you're going to need a PowerPC version of Linux.
     
  12. wightstraker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #12
    It sounds like your xorg.conf file may not be configuring itself properly. This problem was addressed in 7.10 but your case may be an exception. While it might help, you shouldn't have to get another GPU...It isn't pretty, but Ubuntu can run without hardware acceleration. Nvidia doesn't even make ppc linux drivers.

    I'd consider downloading the alternate install CD. You won't be able to load a live desktop before installation, but it should take the hitches out of installation and make troubleshooting easier.
     
  13. MacBookLover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #13
    sooo yeah I got fedora to work it goes through the loading screens then my screen goes blank/black and yeah..


    what do I do!?
     

Share This Page