Booting from second hard disk

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by denisvj, May 21, 2012.

  1. denisvj macrumors regular

    denisvj

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #1
    Hi ,

    I have a doubt

    I have my MB Pro with an intel SSD 160GB in the main bay and today I bought a second hard drive 256 GB SSD .

    I moved my Intel SSD to the optical bay and installed the new SSD on the main bay .

    I am to lazy to install everything or to restore from the TM Backup .

    Will I have problems in the future if I keep booting from the optical bay where is my old SSD with everything installed and running fine ?

    Which software can I use to just clone from the optical bay to the new hard drive ?

    Thanks,
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You will not have problems, I have my SSD in the Optibay and the HDD in its original place.
    As for copying: CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper!

    MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

    the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
    • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
    • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)
     
  3. denisvj thread starter macrumors regular

    denisvj

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the answer !

    I going to try CCC and see what happens .

    :)
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
  5. denisvj thread starter macrumors regular

    denisvj

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #5
    Thanks simsaladimbamba ¡

    CCC did the job !

    I'm booting from the new hard drive and everything was smooth and fast.

    :)
     

Share This Page