Booting Issue with Multiple Windows Partitions

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Ferrari904, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. Ferrari904 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    I have Windows Xp and Windows 7 on two different hard drives in my Mac Pro. Windows 7 had been working fine, but I needed XP to run some older programs that 7 couldn't do. I have been working in XP some time now but when I try to boot from the Windows 7 drive it just reverts to the XP one. Even when I click on the Windows 7 drive to make it the start up drive it still goes to XP. Is there something I'm doing wrong? What is the issue here? Thanks for any help.;)
     
  2. gumbyx84 macrumors 6502

    gumbyx84

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #2
    Would download and install rEFIt. Its a boot loader for Macs. Most tri-boot installs use it to get around the issues you are running into.
     
  3. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Yep, refit is the way to go. It's a great tool for tri-boot setups
     
  4. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

    isaaclimdc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    rEFIt is simply fantastic. Go take a look at it.
     
  5. Ferrari904 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Mmmmm.... not quite

    Okay so I installed rEFIt and that part worked just fine. However, when I get to the boot menu both my Windows partitions show up but they both show up as "Partition 3". It doesn't matter which one I pick, both boot into XP. I'm not sure what this means? Has my computer confused itself into thinking that both Partitions are the same when there really not. I'm a little baffled here. I think I need a little bit more help with this please! Its greatly appreciated.;)
     
  6. Ferrari904 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    Bump

    PLEASE DOES ANYBODY KNOW!!!!! I don't want to loose Windows 7!!!!
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    It could be that your W7 HDD boot loader is set to boot XP by default. Can you remove the XP HDD temporarily?

    B
     

Share This Page