Booting up Mac OS X from an external keyboard

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by daihard, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. daihard macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Hi.

    I have Leopard running on a MacBook. I am wondering if there's a way to boot it up from an external keyboard connected to it via USB?

    I am asking this question because I usually have the MacBook connected to an external monitor and keyboard, with the lid closed. I currently open the lid, press the power button, and then close the lid once Leopard is up and running. It would be much more convenient if I can fire it up via the external keyboard without touching the lid.

    TIA,
    Dai
     
  2. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #2
    No but you could just leave the macbook in sleep mode. That way it would come to life with any key press on the external keyboard.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    +1 for putting it to sleep.

    cant think of any otherway to turn it on without opening it...
     
  4. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #4
    You could look for an older Apple keyboard. The ones that came with the first iMacs, the G4 Cube, etc, all had power buttons on them, but I can't say if that would work with our current hardware.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    very good idea! i reckon they would work. apple doesnt normally drop support of things like keyboards. that would be worth a try.

    i have an old imac G3 keyboard, i will try it when i get home and let you know.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    How do you boot from a keyboard? :confused:
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    some keyboards have the power button on them.. old G3 imacs keyboards etc...
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I was making a joke. Forget it. :(
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    lol sorry, it seemed like a legitimate n00bish question(no offense). i had to answer seriously just incase haha
     
  10. daihard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    Thanks guys. I suppose the easiest way around it is to use the sleep mode. I reckon it won't consume too much power in the sleep mode, will it?

    Oh, and it took me a while to get that joke, too. I'm such a killjoy. :(
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    I was little vague, even with the joke. :p

    No that's great. My moher took my PB and uses as a desktop :)(); I just tell her to never shut it down and only sleep. Restart it once a week to refresh everything.
     

Share This Page