BOOTRom MP51.0089.B00, running High Sierra 10.13.5

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ObiJuan2080, Nov 2, 2018.

  1. ObiJuan2080 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #1
    Here is my dilemma: I have the Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010), BOOTRom MP51.0089.B00, running High Sierra 10.13.5 .

    1. I have PCIe SSD (four of them Raided to read as one drive...sorry I'm not all that tech savvy. Please bare with me). I can't upgrade to 10.13.6 because it keeps telling me that it doesn't recognize the raid...something or other. So I would always take it elsewhere for almost every update. It's a pain not to be able to update the regular way, in the comfort of my own home. How can I go about this because I'm tired of the back and forth from home to the center, the almost two day wait (I have projects to complete), then back home afterwards. Keep in mind, I'm willing to do clean installs because my projects, my life, is all on externals. I always leave the internal drives to only work the applications and OS.

    2. My graphics card is the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4096 MB . After I get 10.13.6 in, with this card, can I upgrade to Mojave then? Or am I stuck at 10.13.6?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. bsbeamer macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #2
    You cannot run GTX 980 without drivers (reliably) in Mojave. You're best sticking with 10.13.6 if that is the GPU you're sticking with.
     
  3. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    You are stuck with 10.13.6. Two motives:

    1. NVIDIA and Apple are bickering and no more web drivers for Mojave, so no support for Maxwell/Pascal GPUs. You can't even update to the most recent SecurityUpdate.
    2. Apple don't yet support APFS RAID, so no RAID installs with Mojave. With 10.13.6 you can still use HFS+ and RAID.
     
  4. ObiJuan2080, Nov 2, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018

    ObiJuan2080 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #4
    Thank you for your speedy reply. So, how do I get around to at least updating to 10.13.6 since I always get the message that the Raid that's been setup can't be recognized? I'd like to learn to do this myself if possible.
     
  5. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    Open a new thread asking help about RAID, provide details into how your RAID is setup, show diskutil screenshots/etc.

    Maybe someone who have RAID + 10.13 workarounds experience can help you with this. This is totally off topic into the two threads that you posted asking help.
     
  6. X--X macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #6
    Just clone your raid to an external single drive, update from there and clone it back to the raid.
     

Share This Page

5 November 2, 2018