Boots to bright white screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Keith Ruhl, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Keith Ruhl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #1
    I purchased a A1286 macbook pro 15" from a fellow for $200.00
    The problem he described with it, and I can concur, is that it boots to a bright white screen. If I attach an external to it, the external will not work unless I disconnect the ribbon cable off the internal lcd screen first.
    What could it be. I tried the internal lcd on another macbook and it worked fine.
     
  2. Keith Ruhl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #2
    Update

    I have managed to boot up the mac with the ribbon cable still attached and using an external monitor.
    I tried a screen from another macbook pro and it was white too.
     
  3. jwksmith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
  4. Keith Ruhl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #4
    I tried a known working lcd with cable and the result was the same.
     
  5. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    most likely GPU issues - read - it's done for.
     
  6. Keith Ruhl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #6
    If the gpu was bad then why does the external monitor work
     
  7. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    missed it. could be secondary issue on the logic board.
    is the LCD connector ok?

    if you already tried good tested display, i don't think there is other way then to replace logic board.
     
  8. Keith Ruhl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #8
    I checked out the connector and it is tight to the motherboard.
    How is it possible that the output is fine on a external and not on the macbook.
    Is there anybody out there that had the same problem and how to solve it?
     
  9. GhettoMrBob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #9
    The display sounds like it's receiving power and backlight but no data (video).

    It could be the logic board connection that's bad...meaning the gpu is still intact, it's just not able to send video out over that onboard connection.

    Worst comes to worst..use it as a desktop?
     

Share This Page