bootup slow?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by geordiejohn, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. geordiejohn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #1
    hello i have just bought an applemac mini 1.83 with leopard and when i power on i see the apple logo and then i get a blue screen which just sits there for about 5 mins?
    also when i was using windows i could do alt ctrl del and see task manager but how do i do this on mac.
    one last question is can i connect my mac to my panasonic 37" tv and if i do what about my router lead-what do i do with this?
    thank you.
     
  2. TopGear macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Location:
    .––. .–. .– ––. ..– .
    #2
    Hi John,

    Sounds like your first Mac. Welcome.

    Sorry to say that blue screen doesn't sound right. Do you have the OS X install disk that came with the computer? If so, put it in the drive and restart from the disk (hold down C during startup). From there you can run Disk Utilities to try to find out what's wrong, or re-install OS X on your hard drive.

    If not, find someone with an OS X install disk and go from there. Good luck.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    If you are trying to get to a "force quit", that would be command + option + esc

    If you are trying to see your activity, there is an Activity Monitor app in your Utilities folder

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #4
    For your boot woes:

    Please insert the Mac OS Install disk|reboot|press c as soon as the white screen (before the Apple logo) pops up|Select Language|Utilities (the menubar at the top of the screen)|Disk Utility|Select your HDD on which Mac OS is installed|Repair!
     
  5. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #5
    The TV will use DVI or VGA, different to a router cable. I suggest you visit a Genius Bar at your local :apple:Store, they can answer any questions you have, and even show you the right cables.
     
  6. geordiejohn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #6
    ok thank you i have reinstalled the software and all ok now and i am still deciding about connecting to the tv.
     

Share This Page