Borderlands 2 on Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by cmakohon, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. cmakohon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #1
    Anyone played Borderlands 2 on Yosemite? I'm running it on a 2012 retina MBP with an i7, 8gb ram and NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1 GB vram. The game seems sluggish and it doesn't seem to properly load the textures. Also, there are no shadows at all. Just curious to see if anyone else has this problem.
     
  2. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #2
    Are you seriously asking for opinions and complaining about running a game smoothly on a beta? I don't have words....
     
  3. cmakohon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #3
    I was just asking if anyone else had tried running it on Yosemite. I wasn't trying to complain; I simply wanted to see if anyone else had a similar problem and had a fix for it.
     
  4. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    Oh hey, it's not like, that's what a beta is for, right? I mean, I'm sure companies would like to have a heads up if their application is broken in an OS so they can patch it.
     
  5. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #5
    Not sure if serious...I don't have words.
     
  6. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #6
    If you don't have words to say, then a forum is probably not the place to hang around. ;)
     
  7. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #7
    Jump the gun much? The OP is just asking for other people's experiences running Borderlands 2, yet you've just assumed they're complaining and parroted the tired "it's a beta" line, which IMO is trolling as it's just about the most useless response to a thread in this forum.

    You know what a beta's for, right? It's to find potential issues and to fix them, if you just tell someone "it's a beta" like it's okay for it to be riddled with problems like they should just ignore them, then how are any of those problems going to get fixed?


    For the OP; I'm running Yosemite in a VM rather than from a partition, so I have issues running games anyway, but it does sound like a potential issue. We haven't been told of any graphics changes, so it may be worth reporting to Apple at bugreport.apple.com; remember to include a system profile (About This Mac -> More Info -> System Report -> File Menu -> Save) and take some screenshots of issues if you can (Shift + Command + 3 or 4). How well did it run for you under Mavericks?
     
  8. 0000757, Jul 7, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2014

    0000757 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #8
    Really, the is for people to be updating their apps for compatibility and to integrate APIs, and it's not intended for general public use, which is why they're doing the Public beta trial later in the year to allow the public to find any extra bugs they encounter in day-to-day use. Yosemite is FAR from being a usable desktop OS unless you're brave enough and you have the patience to put up with it's problems. Sure, bug finding is part of it, but they're not intending for the general end user to be doing that with the DP. That's why there's the bug reporting tool specific to developers (unless they've merged the public and developer bug reporter, which it looks like they've done).

    As far as game compatibility, "it's a beta" really is the only answer here. The entire framework of OS X is changed with Yosemite, so that's kind of the only reason and explanation.

    For bug reporting, since it's an issue with the application you need to report it to the developer and hope they fix it. Apple doesn't have the control over whether the game runs or not.
     
  9. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #9
    We know. But OS betas are also for testing by developers to ensure their apps function with the new OS and their aren't any bugs. That includes gaming companies developing for OSX. Presumably Aspyr is testing Borderlands 2 on their systems to make sure they don't have any problems at release, or if they do they're already aware of them and a patch is being worked on.

    No one in this thread has recommended OP blame Apple over a third party, or recommended OP file a bug report to Apple for a third party application. Nor did anyone imply Borderlands 2 was developed by Apple. Where on Earth did you get this idea?
     
  10. 0000757 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #10
    That's exactly what I said in the first half of my posting. I never said that the developer previews weren't for testing and updating. In fact I said that's what they're exactly for.

    There's a reason too why the developer previews aren't made public, and why Apple is making a Public beta available. I too LOVE using Apple's beta softwares and even against regular opinion, I often use their beta software as my single OS. That's not what they're intended for though, they're really not ready for daily use. When I had Yosemite installed it broke a critical app (that I didn't need at the time but I do now) and many daily used apps, even OS ones like Safari, crashed on a regular basis.

    I'm not saying that OP is someone just messing around with the beta. Maybe they are, maybe they're a serious developer writing apps, or maybe it's a mixture of both. Sometimes the only answer that some can actually give is "It's a beta". Pretty much the only thing you can do is report the app issue to the developer and hope they get it updated in time for launch, or if it's an OS issue use the bug reporting tool and hope Apple gets to work on it quick.

    It's not an optimal answer, and it sure does get annoying, but sometimes it's really the only answer.

    I didn't say that Apple is to blame, I said that if the game is having compatibility issues to contact the developer, not Apple. As for where this statement originated:

    Rather than report it to Apple, report it to the developer, since it's an issue with the application itself, not the OS.

    I will edit my post though as reading over it I do seem aggressive and I don't intend to be.
     
  11. Tubamajuba macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Done with MacRumors, the trolls have won
    #11
    Betas aren't intended for the general public to help developers out. That said, when someone comes here simply asking for other input on how well a certain game works, it's completely harmless. I see no sense of entitlement in the original post that indicates the OP expects the game to work.

    If you don't want to help, don't comment.
     
  12. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #12
    How can someone help? Will someone patch the game to run on Yosemite? Yosemite animations are slow, windows mess up at times too, and the whole UI has changed. There are new toolkits for game developers. The makers of borderlands 2 have access to the beta. The game won't be fixed till Yosemite releases to the public. There, I helped.
     
  13. Tubamajuba macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Done with MacRumors, the trolls have won
    #13

    What if it's an issue related to a specific GPU? What if there's a setting you can change to alleviate an issue with the game? The game may not be fixed until the public release of Yosemite, but until then, there might be ways for people to work around the issues.

    If having 100% functionality is desired, then yes, Mavericks is your only option for a lot of software. But many people here can live with a few minor issues because Yosemite is working very well at this stage of the process. It is completely within reason (and the forum's terms of use) to discuss bugs and preliminary fixes for software running on beta operating systems, regardless of how counterintuitive you may think it is.
     
  14. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #14
    Well said. Really tired of the "it's Beta, wait for GM" type of answers. I wish those that give that answer would simply just not respond. I was having problems with Mail on my Desktop but not on my Laptop. So I knew the problem was with my setup on the Desktop and not a specific problem with Mail. I finally figured it out. But had I not had two machines to compare against I might not have solved the problem and would have replied on helpful people on this forum. My point is that every problem is not a bug within Yosemite. This is why we are here to help each other. Please refrain from posting the fact that Yosemite is Beta/DP software. We all know that already.
     
  15. roboGc macrumors regular

    roboGc

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    goldcoast australia
    #15
    SIMPLE AS !!!! BUY A XBOX OR PS3 !!! or one or ps4
     
  16. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #16
    Yes, there's a setting in the game to fix this issue, it's called revert to Mavericks.
     
  17. Tubamajuba macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Done with MacRumors, the trolls have won
    #17
    Not sure if serious... I don't have words.

    What do you mean we're here to help each other? I thought this was a place where we can be intentionally obtuse and refuse to understand why other people do things differently than we do! :rolleyes:
     
  18. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #18
    You still haven't helped OP so help me find the words :D
     
  19. Tubamajuba macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Done with MacRumors, the trolls have won
    #19
    I never claimed to help the OP, nor did I belittle them for asking a question.
     
  20. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  21. jameslmoser macrumors 6502

    jameslmoser

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #21
    I agree with you, except this isn't a beta. Yosemite is a developer preview, its not feature complete.
     
  22. chrisrand macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #22
    I don't have words......

    but here they are anyway.

    I agree with the overall sentimental that this is just an alpha release, as it should not be used as a daily driver, which is why the first reply was "I don't have words......"

    There is no need to test games on a developer preview, maybe when the beta arrives on 7/22/2014
     
  23. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #23
    While the developer should certainly be informed too, it'd be premature to just assume the game is at fault either; something clearly changed in Yosemite that caused the game to break, but it could just as easily be a Yosemite bug as a Borderlands 2 one.

    If only a few Borderlands players are experiencing problems then Apple will just ignore it, but if people are reporting similar issues with other games as well then Apple will recognise it as a potential Yosemite issue and investigate, as they should.

    Also; developer preview or not, Yosemite is still a testing release. While it gives developers a head-start on compatibility and new features, that doesn't mean they shouldn't report potential bugs, especially since issues with your app could be larger operating system issues.
     
  24. denniskim527 macrumors newbie

    denniskim527

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Location:
    South Korea
    #24
    Hey man. I am a guy who play Axton. Well, I believe that it is not a problem to ask if your problem with the game happens to other people or not whether you are in a beta.

    For me, I run a Late 2013 rMBP 15 with Iris Pro and 8GB RAM, and it works fine for me until now. However, I did not test it for DP3. Good luck on your game!
     
  25. 0000757 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #25
    If the issues is related to a specific GPU then that's a hardware issue. Unless the whole system is having graphical errors then its not really Apple's fault that a game can't run under an update.

    Also, Yosemite is definitely far from being ready for stable regular use. Thats why it a developer preview and they even say themselves to not use it as a main OS. They have the upcoming public beta for people who just want to day/do vigilante bug squashing.

    In a situation like this, all you can do is tell the developer and hope it gets fixed. You can't really do anything else about it.
     

Share This Page