Borderlands : Game of the year edition

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by sheen911, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. sheen911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #1
    Hello everyone.
    I just want to how the gameplay is on the macbook pro 2010 2.4ghz 13".
    Does it make the macbook extremely hot? i don't want to burn my machine thanks:D. So please reply me if you have any experience with the game on MacOs and not bootcamp.
     
  2. IanAtFeral macrumors member

    IanAtFeral

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #2
    Hey sheen. Your MBP should run it with no problems. If it does run a little slower than you'd like, try turning off 'Dynamic Shadows' in the game, as this causes the biggest performance hit.

    It will make the MacBook heat up a bit, and you'll notice your fans making more noise than usual, but as long as there's ventilation around the laptop (i.e. you've got it on a desk, not resting on a bed or blanket) you'll have no problems.

    – Ian :)
     
  3. sheen911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the reply Ian :D..then how about CoD4 modern warfare?
     
  4. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #4
    Feral did not work on CoD4 so we honestly don't know any more than you do. Reading the specifications on the game page should help, I think you should be fine but best read up and check for yourself.

    Cheers,

    Edwin
     
  5. sheen911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #5
    Thanks edwin:D
     
  6. thagomizer macrumors 6502

    thagomizer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    As long as we're on the topic of Borderlands...

    I bought this on App store as soon as it arrived and have been playing it for weeks now. I'm at level 24 and it's been a great ride, I'm not even halfway through the single player missions yet. The game has such a polished feel to it. Thank you @ Feral for not using Cider and making it Mac-native.

    But I'm wondering, since I bought it through App store, and I sync all my apps to both of my Macs, is there any problem with running this game multiplayer on my two Macs with my "single" license of the game?

    I tried it on a LAN (not over the Internet, i.e. I wasn't using GameSpy). It didn't work; neither Mac game sees the other one on the LAN. I didn't pursue it much further, because I don't really have anyone else to play it with... I just was curious to try it. :p

    So, is the license blocking me, or (more likely) a firewall issue? I've heard that I need to open up some ports when playing multiplayer, even on a LAN. I'm using the default firewall settings, whatever the Mac defaults to. I've read various PC boards and nobody seems to agree on what ports are used, so they just turn their firewall off entirely... I don't want to do that.
     
  7. Time Clock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Location:
    Hemet, CA
    #7
    Speaking of Borderlands... I'd like to purchase the game, but I'd like to try it out first. Is there ever going to be demo? I actually bought Bioshock based off of the way the demo ran on my Mini. I want to make sure the game runs decently on my Mac before shelling out my money.
     
  8. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #8
    Contact support with a "support report" (see Read Me on how to make one) for both machines and we will have a look into it for you.

    As it is an open ended game it has no demo this is the same as the PC and console versions. My guess based on you mentioning a Mac mini that existed when BioShock was shipped is that you have a 9400M Mac mini which means you will be more or less minimum spec for this game so expect to be playing on one of the lower resolutions with most settings turned down/off.

    Borderlands is effected by resolution more than effects so dropping your res is always the biggest speed boost.

    Edwin
     
  9. Time Clock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Location:
    Hemet, CA
    #9
    Thanks, it is appreciated:)
     
  10. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #10
    Will borderlands work on lowest settings on the new MacBook Pro 13" with intel HD 3000 video?
     
  11. sheen911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #11
    Does this mean you bought the 2011 13" already? :confused:
     
  12. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #12
    Yes
     
  13. sheen911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #13
    I see.. good for ya ^_^.. Have you done any gaming on it yet?
     
  14. siorai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #14
    The OSX CoD Modern Warfare port blows. Don't bother with it, just boot into Windows. I had to turn tons of things down, including the res just to get a playable framerate in OSX. In Windows? I could crank everything up and set it to a higher res and ended up with better framerates.

    The Borderlands port on the other hand runs great. I wish that Feral would handle all ports of PC games if Borderlands is an indication of what they can do.
     
  15. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #15
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12078958&postcount=8

    Should of read that before I bought the game, its downloading. Somebody else said
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12081559&postcount=10

    Maybe I'll get lucky and it'll work. Thought I read somewhere else that it works on low settings, but I can't find that post.
     
  16. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #16
    Seems to run fine on low settings. Was getting some lag, but rebooting seemed to fix that. Was probably low on memory.
     
  17. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #17
    Half Life 2
    Portal
    Counter Strike Source
    Torchlight
    Bioshock demo
    Plants vs Zombies
    Lux Delux
    Minecraft

    Those are all the other games I've played on it. They all work fine.
     
  18. sheen911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #18
    thanks:D..i want borderlands.. i bought the 2010 13" pro just one month before the 2011 13" pro was announced -_-"...
    But i'm ok with it thou.. at least it looks the same haha:D
     
  19. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #19
    I work for Feral (we developed Borderlands on the Mac) so I do know Borderlands does have some side effects when playing on a Intel HD3000. The biggest issue is some decals etc are rotated 90 degrees and changing your resolution while playing the game results in a permanent black screen. These are side effects of missing features in the drivers compared to other cards in older MacBookPro machines.

    We are working on building up a list of the issues with the HD3000 and also thinking about how we can disable certain graphics options or alter our methods to get around the problems. If you notice issues with any Feral game on your 13" MacBookPro please email our support team so we can make sure we look into it and more importantly let you know when we have a solution.

    Cheers,

    Edwin
     
  20. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    lewdvig

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #20
    I really like Feral's ports. I tried their demos yesterday night and all of them ran silky smooth.

    Most of the games are ones I bought on Windows, but I am keeping my eyes peeled for sales. I'll buy them to support the dev even if I likely won't replay them.

    I did not buy any Borderlands DLC on steam, so when the Mac GOTY version goes on sale I will pick it up.

    Most of my game purchases are impulse buys (Steam, D2D, Impulse and iOS App Store) when games go on sale or triple AA titles that I can't wait to play. I hope Mac devs can either release same day as Windows or start offering sales on App store (or wherever).

    If devs only get 70% on App Store, why not sell games for 30% less on their own websites?
     
  21. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #21
    I noticed the rotation thing. I haven't got the black screen yet.
     
  22. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #22
    The Mac GOTY is available to buy in boxed form (from our site and many others) or from digital stores including the MacGameStore, Direct2Drive & AppStore. The German censored version is still in approvals for the AppStore but all other stores the German version is available to buy.

    Edwin

    p.s. Thanks for all the kind words about our ports, we will do our best to live up the reputation :)
     
  23. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    lewdvig

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #23
    Hey Edwin!

    Thanks. I meant 'SALE!!' not 'sale.' ;)

    I bet you would sell more $$$ of Borderlands at $25 than $50. It would also make people aware of your excellent ports. Which would mean more sales in the future. :D

    Even Apple is doing it! I bought Aperture for $80 on the App Store.

    :D
     
  24. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #24
    Oh! OK :)
     
  25. vanvalkinburgh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #25
    For anyone wondering, there's another problem with Borderlands on the MacBook Pro 13". Using a PS3 controller and when you click square on a vending machine, it exits right away. Also the select button doesn't work. Feral Interactive was able to reproduce it on the same machine. They said the other macs with different video didn't have that problem.

    Strange that the intel video would mess up a game controller. Now I'm going to go look into that Logitech wired RumblePad 2.
     

Share This Page