bought 3GS on craigslist, won't activate

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sp1keNARF, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. sp1keNARF macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    I apologize if this thread has been done a million times, I've tried googling but nothing seems to work.

    I've taken the phone to ATT & Apple and it won't activate.

    Is there any way that I can restore the phone so it will activate? I've tried the DFU mode restore.
     
  2. ninjaw95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    #2
    interesting, if your planning on using AT&T i would make sure its fully updated.
    you can attempt to Hactivate it with a custom ipsw from pwnagetool, do some googling on hactivation becuase i am not so clear on that subject
     
  3. kuwxman macrumors 6502

    kuwxman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Location:
    Olathe, KS
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    What firmware and BB

    We need more information
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    Could your IMEA have been blacklisted ?

    Lots of these for sale on Craigslist/eBay.
     
  6. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #6
    If hacktivation and putting in an at&t sim doesn't work, you might have to consider the imei blacklist--as suggested by dhlizard.
     
  7. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #7
    I'd take it at& t and have them check it. Also possibility it was originally on another carrier. I'm sure you tested though before you bought it though.
     
  8. saud0488 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #8
    I'm going to guess that if he can't activate it, that he probably can't access the settings to find out that information. :confused:
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Or maybe the 3GS is not locked to AT&T that's why it wont active with their sims.
    Try hactivating it but either way if its locked on a different carrier you might be stuck with installing the ipad bb to use it on AT&T.
    And make sure you research cause if its a newer released 3GS you might fry it if you try flashing the 06.15.00 bb.
     

Share This Page