Bought a MBPr from best buy - no force touch track pad

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by IconicM, Nov 29, 2015.

  1. IconicM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #1
    13 MBPr 8/256 config from best buy this weekend and it does not have a force touch track pad. Is this a good thing or is it worth returning it for one that does?

    Thanks
     
  2. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #2
    Depends. How much did you pay? Was it new/return/refurb? What do you use the mbp for? If the price is good then you're probably safe keeping it!
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    As someone else already said, it really depends on what you paid for it.

    What year is it? Are you positive that it doesn't have force touch?
     
  4. IconicM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #4
    This is a new MBPr. Bought it as a black Friday deal. $150 discount from price of $1499.

    System info indicates it is an early 2015 model. Force touch was introduced in March 2015 on the 13" MBPr, if I understand correctly.

    My question is do folks here generally see the force touch track pad as an useful upgrade? The laptop works fine otherwise, no complaints or issues.
     
  5. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #5
    so, all clear, that model doesn't have force touch.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Well if you paid full price and didn't get the latest model, I'd return it.
     
  7. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #7
    If it is an early 2015 it will have it, turn the computer off and try to click the trackpad if it doesn't click it's got it. If it hasn't got it is a a 2014 model.

    You may have to use trackpad settings to get it to do force actions but they should be automatic in certain apps like safari.
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    You can also look in About This Mac, then the System Report.
    If you have a MacbookPro12,1 then it's a current model with force touch.
    If you have a MacBookPro11,1 that's the previous model, with multi-touch.

    Samuelsan2001 has a great idea.
    If the trackpad clicks with power off, then you have the older multi-touch.
    No click, that's force touch.
     
  9. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #9
    It could also be the sensitivity. You can adjust it in the preferences under trackpad
     
  10. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #10
    2015 models have force touch.

    Turn off the computer, you'll notice it no longer "clicks".
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    That was what I was trying to get at. Your MacBook Pro has force touch if it's a 2015 model. As Samuelsan2001, DeltaMac and snaky69 suggested, turn it off and try to click the touchpad. It won't click.
     
  12. IconicM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #12
    You guys were right, it is a 12,1 system, so it does indeed have the force touch. I thought I would feel more feedback. I cannot tell it's even there. Now I just need to read up on it. Thanks everyone for your help.
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    You should be able to feel it "click" when you press it. Maybe the feedback isn't working on yours?
     
  14. IconicM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #14
    That's a good point. Maybe I'll take it into Apple and have them check it out. I've changed settings in preferences but still not getting feedback. Thanks.
     
  15. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #15
    You're not supposed to be getting feedback per se.

    It should feel like a click when you press down on it, and that's the only feedback that should be felt.
     

Share This Page