Bought Mac Mini 2 Weeks Ago, and now...

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ramnj, Oct 25, 2012.

  1. ramnj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    ...a new Mac Mini came out. I have the i5 2.3 with 2GB.

    I'm new to the Mac environment. I have installed software and have over 15G in data and music. I don't want to loose iWorks and some other software.

    Can I just do a backup using Time Machine and once I exchange Mac Mini's, just do a restore and be back in business?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yes that will be fine.
    Backup using time machine then restore this backup to the new mini. It will put all files and settings back into their original location.
    ;)
     
  3. ramnj thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
  4. flatfoot99 Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #5
    unless you order the new fusion drive. can't use previous back ups on it.
     
  5. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #6
    Does that include apps from outside of the app store?

    I downloaded MS Office through my school. I'd rather not have to spend another $50.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Yes, it includes all apps, whether they were purchased in the App Store or not.
    Bear in mind every time I have done this MS Office seems to lose its license settings. So although it goes across you will need to re-enter your license code once more for it to reactivate and you're done!
     
  7. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #8
    Thank you!
     
  8. OldSchoolMacGuy macrumors 68030

    OldSchoolMacGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #9
    Yes you can. Simply use the Migration Assistant to move everything over to the new install once you get the new machine. Works perfectly fine.
     
  9. flatfoot99 Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #10
    i thought document from apple says you can't?
     

Share This Page