Bought MBP and switched to MBA (or vice versa)?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Akvavit, Mar 20, 2011.

1. Akvavit macrumors newbie

Mar 20, 2011
    So - my first post here on the site, better make it a good one!

Alright pressure gone, and on to it! I am new to all these Apple products, and the entire way of living with the pros/cons of the stuff they make. I have been rocking my iPod 120 GB for about 1 1/2 year now, and just jumped on the iPad wagon - i love it all - beside iTunes - guess i'll learn to live/love that eventually.

I got a gamin desktop, and am not looking to replace that. But i would like something between my iPad and the desktop. And in that segment there is the MBP and the MBA.

What i need is something that can handle all non-gaming things (mail, web, light non-raw photo editing, maybe light movie editing too - etc.) I think both system are capable of this - but i am in doubt which i would like best in the long run.

I need to drag it around with me on travels several times a year - so i have my eyes on the 13" of both of them - since both would be okay weight wise. If i end up with a MBP i will install SSD myself - so i will end up with SSD in both options.

But i was wondering, if any of you bought either a MBP or MBA, and ended up switching to the other type? And especially what made you do that? Any suggestions to which to choose, would also be appreciated :)

Thanks in advance
  2. bcaslis macrumors 68020

Mar 11, 2008
    It really depends on what you are looking for. Either can handle those tasks. The 13" MBA would be my pick since it has a higher resolution screen (1440x900 versus 1280x800) than the 13" MBP. If the MBP had a higher resolution screen I would pick that.

For me the speed and screen size of the 15" made me go with it. But it really depends on what you want to do with it and how much importance you give to weight versus screen size versus speed for other tasks.
  3. Akvavit thread starter macrumors newbie