Bought my first Mac! Whats the best hybrid HD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ramzijw, Dec 7, 2013.

1. ramzijw macrumors member

Hi guys,

After a long time of saying i was going to by a mac, i finally have, since my laptop screen decided it won't work anymore. So i managed to buy a second hand 13" mid 2012 cmbp for $700 in pretty excellent condition.

Now I'm pretty new to the whole MAC OS since I've been windows all my life but have fancied a change. Now I'm currently travelling around australia and only currently use the laptop for some light video/photo editing, documents and general browesing. But would like to upgrade the hard drive to a hybrid drive....but the question is what one? As I don't know really any peoples experiences from them on a mac. I'm looking for 500-750gb and SSD is out of my price range for this.

Also any useful apps/programmes to keep my mac healthy would greatly be appreciated.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

Why not a 128GB Samsung 840 Pro or 120GB Samsung 840 Evo, and an external drive? You risk a much lower chance of drive failure. You can store all your libraries and large files in an external drive.

4. NocturnalJazz macrumors regular

I've had a seagate in mine for 3 years. Great upgrade. Noticeable improvement from the HHD.

5. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

The problem with external drives is that you need to lug them around with you when ever you travel. I don't think the OPs decision for a hybrid drive is a bad one. It all depends on your needs.For me, I can live within a 256 SSD and my non current stuff on a drobo DAS. When I travel I have everything I need on the SSD

6. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

120gb + ssd in an optibay and use main drive for storage. Wouldn't bother with a hhd they really don't offer significant gains.

7. ramzijw thread starter macrumors member