Bought new keyboard for iMac, volume not working

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pjk, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. pjk macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #1
    So I recently bought this new keyboard:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005DLDTAE/ref=oh_o00_s00_i00_details

    Many of the F keys are mis-assigned (such as volume up/down hiding windows instead of controlling volume). After looking into it, it seems a lot of people had this issue, but none of the solutions worked for me.

    I just realized that it has a system requirement of 10.6.8, and I am on 10.5.8. Is there anyway I can get around this by remapping the F keys or something? I love the keyboard, I just need to get the brightness and volume keys working.

    Thank you in advance for your time!
     
  2. kpgh554 macrumors regular

    kpgh554

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    iver england
    #2
    have you tried keyboard settings in system preferences
     
  3. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #3
    Which settings specifically? In the keyboard shortcuts, I see nothing about volume control.
     
  4. kpgh554 macrumors regular

    kpgh554

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    iver england
    #4
  5. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #5
    Mine isn't a wireless. And I downloaded the update 1.2 just now and once I tried installing it said there is a newer version already on the computer.

    Any other ideas? I basically need to make 10.5.8 compatible for 10.6.8 keyboards, or remap the keys myself. I don't really want to update my OS right now, as 10.5.8 works fine.
     
  6. kpgh554 macrumors regular

    kpgh554

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    iver england
    #6
    Using keyboard function keys
    Most function keys on your keyboard serve as specific control keys, such as volume and brightness controls.

    However, applications may also assign alternate functions to these same keys. For example, on some keyboards Exposé uses F9 and F10 to perform special actions. Some computers allow you to use the alternate function assigned to a function key by holding down the Function (Fn) key as you press the function key.

    If you frequently use the alternate function of a function key, you can switch the keyboard so that the function keys perform the alternate function without your pressing Fn. You then hold down Fn to use a function key’s original hardware control function. If your keyboard doesn’t have an Fn key, try holding down the Control key.

    To switch the function keys to perform alternate functions:

    Choose Apple menu > System Preferences, and then click Keyboard.

    Open Keyboard preferences
    Select the “Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys” checkbox. got this from help in menu bar. perhaps can try their suggestions might help
     
  7. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #7
    What type of iMac is it? and what OS are you using?

    If the steps provided before by unchecking the use F1, F2, etc keys are function keys doesn't work, the keyboard may not be supported -- give Software Update a try?
     
  8. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #8
    Yeah, using the Fn did nothing. When I checked “Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys”, it also seemed to have no effect. I also tried to hold control and it also had no affect.

    The iMac is a 17" Intel Core Duo. The OS is 10.5.8. As mentioned earlier, the keyboard says it is compatible with 10.6.8 and higher. However, surely I can somehow remap the keys so this will work.

    Anything else I can try? Thanks!
     
  9. burnout8488 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Endwell, NY
    #9
    Go to software update and see if the aluminum keyboard update comes up.

    I've used both the wireless and corded aluminum keyboards on 10.5.8 and they both worked perfectly after updating. You shouldn't need to map anything.

    The only reason Apple didn't list 10.5.8 as a supported OS is because Snow Leopard is now the oldest OS they support.... but I can guarantee you all keys work without mapping.

    ----------

    Also, you should really upgrade to 10.6 Snow Leopard!
     
  10. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #10
    Good to hear. I've done a software update and everything is up to date. Is there anywhere where I can manually download the aluminum keyboard update?

    I may upgrade soon, but 10.5.8 does everything I need atm.

    Thanks!
     
  11. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #11
    So I've gone through and tried to install every keyboard update I came across. Every one said that the computer had a newer version already, except 1 update, which said "No aluminum keyboard found, please make sure it is connected". I've tried reboots, software updates, unplugging and replugging, changing settings, and still nothing.

    This is the same problem, unsolved:
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3279200?start=0&tstart=0

    Any other advice? This keyboard says it is compatible with 10.6.8 and up, and I am running 10.5.8, so obviously that is related to the problem, but I am unable to find the keyboard update to make this work. Your advice is much appreciated. Thanks to everyone so far.
     
  12. burnout8488 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Endwell, NY
    #12
    You're very welcome, it sounds like you've got an oddball machine as this isn't normal.

    I'm on a 20" Core Duo iMac (technically) which is basically the same as yours and never ran into this problem on Windows OR Mac OSX.

    I bet if you did a clean install it'd alleviate the problem.... but nobody wants to do that just for a keyboard, I agree it wouldn't be worth it unless you don't mind.
     
  13. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #13
    Are you using the latest Aluminum wired keyboard? Very strange.
     
  14. cousinhec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    #15
    For what it's worth, I have the same keyboard, and the same problem. I purchased the keyboard a year or two ago, and at the time I called Apple support to see if they could help, but they were unable to.
     
  15. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #16
    Did you return it for a new one? This one is compatible with 10.6.8 according to the sale, and I am running 10.5.8, so it would be a bit weird returning it because some keys are mapped correctly.
     
  16. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #17
    I am going to return this one for an exchange to see if a new one works better.
     
  17. pjk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #18
    Just an update. I got a new one, but still the same problem. I was about to buy Lion to see if it was my system, but then noticed my iMac probably can't run Lion without a RAM upgrade.
     
  18. machine156 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    #19
    Hardware Keys are scrambled

    I've Ran into this situation 4 different ways now, and I can not find a simple fix anywhere, without installing a 3rd party utility to fix Apple's Stupidity... :mad:

    The 'Hardware Keys' are scrambled when 1) You replace the keyboard on the Aluminum MacBook Pro to the newer one with the Volume on F11 and F12, instead of F3 and F4.

    2) Migrate Data from one computer WITHOUT Volume on F11 and F12 to one with the Volume on F11 and F12.

    3) Change from a plastic Apple USB keyboard to the Aluminum Apple USB keyboard.

    4) Plug Aluminum Apple USB keyboard into any Mac that did not originally have a Keyboard with the Volume keys on F11 and F12 attached to the computer when the OS was installed.

    :mad:@:apple:
     
  19. Dunn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #20
    I tried this when my keyboard suddenly developed the same problem.
    I found that by unchecking the "Use all F1, F2 etc. keys as standard function keys" the keyboard reverted to normal standard function.
     
  20. St3b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    #21
  21. leadfeather89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #22
  22. jbgump macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #23
    keyboard crap

    screw apple, im going back to a samsung phone and computer.....I've had enough
     

Share This Page