Bought the WD Scorpio Black 750

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sgt93, May 31, 2011.

  1. Sgt93, May 31, 2011
    Last edited: May 31, 2011

    Sgt93 macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #1
    I decided against the SSD for now and will wait until I get another MBP in the future. For now I need space with a little speed so I opted for the WD Scorpio Black 750, which arrives in the morning, to replace my stock 250 drive.

    My fear is transferring all files etc to the new HD as I have not done that before. What about programs such as my PS5, Aperture 3 etc. Will those transfer as well or do I need to reinstall using the discs? What is the best method for me to transfer everything? I have never used Time Machine etc. I am sure this has been asked a million times but I truly appreciate all of the expertise on this forum. I just want to make sure I do it right the first time. Thanks in advance -Steve
     
  2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    If you have an external drive, the easiest way i think to transfer stuff is to use either Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper and make a exact copy of your current HDD to the external. Then what you can do is install the new HDD, boot from the external and merely drag and drop everything from the external to your new HDD
     
  3. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #3
    I will put the new drive in an external case and connect it to the Mac if that helps.
     
  4. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    Yup put the new drive in an external enclosure if you have one, then you can pretty much do the same thing i said before and use those programs to make exact copies of your current HDD to the new one.
     
  5. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
  6. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #6
    No problem, good luck!
     
  7. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #7
    Thanks, I will post from my phone if I have problems. Please subscribe LOL
     
  8. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #8
    Almost forgot to ask. What about the partition I have for my Windows/Parallels 6 system. If I clone this, will I be able to increase the partition size etc? Thanks again. -Steve
     
  9. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
  10. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #10
    I think I have this going right. Will I be able to partition later for Parallels 6?
     
  11. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Should be able to
     
  12. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #12
    Thanks a a lot man. You have been very helpful and I appreciate it.
     
  13. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #13
    It took a couple hours to clone but everything seems to be perfect! I have not tried to add a partition etc but right off of the startup everything was recognized etc. Should I do a reset of any memory or anything? Thanks again for the help basesloaded190, you truly made this easy (as I am typing on her right now) :)

    So far appears to be super quiet with a little added speed and a lot more space (which I truly needed).
     
  14. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    No problem my friend. I wouldn't think you would need to do any resetting at this point. Sounds like things are running smoothly. When you need to partition just go into disk utilities where you formatted the drive and you should see the option to do so.
     
  15. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
    #15
    Will do. It's too bad there is not a "thank you" or "kudos" button as some forums have. Maybe that needs to be added?
     
  16. JamDonut, Jun 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2011

    JamDonut macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    England, UK
    #16
    haha you can just write it at the end of your post :)

    kudos

    thanks

    ;)
     
  17. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #17
    Change the kudos button to a paypal button and I think you're on to something.
     
  18. Sgt93 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sgt93

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    Retired'ville
  19. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #19
    Now this I like! Haha

    OP No problem, that's what everyone is here for.
     

Share This Page