Bought used iphone. Heavily modded and laggy.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rappytaffy1, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. rappytaffy1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #1
    So my first iphone got water dameged. It was jailbroken and unlocked. It looked normal just a few good cydia apps. Well the one I bought is crazy an really slow. It has all this useless crap apps and the interface goes up and down(I liek side to side) How do I make it normal. There is no cydia or app store too. I have the latest itunes so what do I do?
     
  2. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #2
    Plug it into iTunes and restore it.
     
  3. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  4. rogue7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #4
    yeah it will but your just gonna jailbreak with blackra1n and then download the unlock which is blacksnow and your good to go
     
  5. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #5
    WAIT

    Restoring in iTunes will update the baseband and if you plan on using it with anyone other than AT&T you'll be screwed. You might want to jump on a torrent site instead and find a custom firmware for your phone already jailbroken, saving you the trouble. This way you could just download it, and restore to that version in iTunes rather than risking locking yourself in to the new baseband version.

    To the mods: I'm pretty sure I'm okay to suggest a torrent site because I'm not linking and it doesn't involve piracy.
     
  6. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    yeah I want to just use pay as you go with rogers minutes. In canada btw. Im scared to plug it in.

    So can someone tell me how to reset the iphone to original settings(with 3.0 update) but still having it unlocked and jailbroken
     
  7. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #7
    Use Pwnage Tool. :)
     
  8. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    NO NO NO NO NO I just broke it again. I tunes locked it and I can only make emergency calls. I cant resotre .NO NO NO thanks for the help. It just made it worse
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    It will be fine, don't worry. Just follow the instructions here, and jailbreak the phone using OS 3.1.2, it even has all the download links for the IPSW. :D
     
  10. Bakakage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
  11. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #11
    I restored it wit custom firmware and it is now locked waiting for sim and dfu mode doesnt even work or detect the iphone. I haveto go to sleep now its 3:00 am. I am so mad right now. Help appreciated
     
  12. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #12
    I recently did this with someones phone. I have a mac mini that i used pwnagetool to make a custom ipsw with the hacktivation. It worked fine and i was able to restore and put any sim card in after installing the unlock.

    If you dont have a mac i dont know what you can do.
     
  13. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #13
    Um...there are two steps to jailbreaking and unlocking. You jailbroke it. Now you need to unlock it. How you unlock depends on what baseband you are on. If you are on 4.26.08 then you open Cydia and add the repo repo666.ultrasn0w.com, then search for untrasn0w and install. If you are on 5.11.07, then you add the repo blackra1n.com, then search for blacksn0w and install. You can check your baseband (Modem Firmware) version under Settings>General>About.
     
  14. Bakakage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #14
    DFU isin't working because you are not holding the home button long enough, just continue holding it until itunes pops up. Also is this a 2g or 3g phone?
     
  15. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    It's locked waiting for sim because you didn't hacktivate it.

    I'm pretty sure BlackSn0w will do the unlock on the newest baseband anyway.

    Restore to stock iPhone 3.1.2 firmware and you'll be locked out. Then run BlackRa1n and it will hacktivate it for you and you'll be good to go
     
  16. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Do this. I did it. It's fine
     
  17. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #17
    omg the blackrain worked. It was so easy. Ill be sure to donate. Will this allow me to use any sim card too?
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    You'll have to install Blacksnow to use any simcard/carrier.
    Check out this tutorial
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5900


     
  19. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #19
    Yes, any sim card should work. :)
     
  20. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    Only, as has been said, if he installs blacksn0w. Right now he's just jailbroken, not unlocked.
     
  21. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #21
    sorry to post here again but black rain just made my phone worse. The keyboard freezes and apps that worked prefect before now crash constantly.
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Try restoring and then running the jailbreak again.


     
  23. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Try again. Make sure you're using the latest version. If you got it from the website then I'm sure you are.

    Some people have issues with it and GeoHotz recommends restoring your phone to stock, then SET UP AS A NEW PHONE, and then run BlackRa1n again. Setting up as a new phone will remove any modification that was previously on the device just in case.
     
  24. rappytaffy1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #24
    why is this so hard. Ok so I cant restore it because the network always times out when the update to restore finishes.

    EDIT: This keyboard freezing is goingto make me throw it at a wall. All my favourite apps also act like crap.

    EDIT EDIT: Wow this is a piece. The mic isnt working anymore and the speakers dont play sound. EVERY app is laggy and crashes and overall this thing is garbage. I mso mad right now
     
  25. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #25
    I suggest a pillow. You could get glass in your foot.

    Seriously though. If you restore it and set it up as a new phone there is no way it's going to behave like it is now. Something is on that phone making it act that way. You need to wipe it.
     

Share This Page