Boxee Not Working on New Apple TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by hfthomp, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. hfthomp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone, I just got my Apple TV today, and yes, I love it. I've got it up and running and just installed the patchstick software stuff on it. I was able to download and install both XMBC and Boxee from the new menus that the patchstick created. I was able to run XMBC, but when I try and run Boxee, I get a black screen and nothing happens. Did I do something wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. nbehar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #2
    Im having the same exact problem. I have tried re installing boxee with the patch stick and no luck. Any progress on your end?
     
  3. hfthomp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #3
    Yes, I got it working. You need to install the Launcher. After doing that boxee launches fine for me. Give it a try and let me know how it goes.
     
  4. mfillhart macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #4
    update

    just update the launcher files and it should get rid of that problem
     
  5. shayn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    I installed boxee on my apple tv today but I can't get sharing to work. I can't see the movie folder on my macpro? I have enabled sharing but I can't connect?

    Is there a guide to getting sharing to work with the apple tv and boxee? I have googled and tried all day but I'm stumped
     
  6. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #6
    Hey guys- the boxee.org forums have got all the answers you need, with a dedicated appletv section.
     
  7. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #7
    How do u play avi videos with boxee? When ever I click on a avi file and press play it doesn't launch the vid.
     
  8. littfam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #8
    I bought the ATV patch this winter, and messed with it for quite some time. In the end I ended up going back to a stock ATV. As for your boxee issue, I had it too. I fought with this issue for quite some time, and discovered that there was a handshake issue between my Samsung 46" display (HDMI) and the ATV.
    Try turning the TV off then back on, and see what happens.
     
  9. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #9
    just update the Launcher version and it should work
     

Share This Page