Boxee or XMBC to read video ts folders

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by OldGuyDave, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. OldGuyDave macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #1
    Since the update I haven't had time to reinstall Boxee or XMBC to have a look, so can someone please tell me if it's possible.
    I have ripped my collection of Battleship Galactica as video_ts folders to my Mac. can I stream these via one of these programs above to the aTV?:confused:

    Mucho Thanks.
     
  2. Purpdust macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #2
    I am not an expert but I would say NO, they will need to be converted to a .mp4 format that is :apple:TV compatible.
     
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    XBMC on the Xbox can do that, but I have had issues in the past doing this (well) on the :apple:TV. I think the same holds true for Boxee. I haven't tried a recent build of either so I don't know for sure how well they work, but at least they are supposed to work.
     
  4. ratter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #4
    Tried an ISO w/Boxee (made w/Disk Utility) and that worked with only one minor glitch (weirdness on one of the menus). Haven't tried a TS folder but I will and will report back when I do.
     
  5. JPDeckers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #5
    For the weirdness on the menu's you might need to see
    http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?p=20570#post20570

    The latests Boxee builds are missing a library-file (libmpeg2-osx.so), after I (re)added it, my DVDs played fine again. I got feedback from team Boxee that they removed it because it causes crashes w/ some ppl\, but for me personally it works fine.

    And yes, I have them stored in VIDEO_TS folders.
     
  6. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    It was problem in playing video_ts folders that made me give up on XBMC and Boxee for my :apple:TV in the first place. The same thing worked fine on my Xbox, but it is too loud and ugly for the living room. I am still looking for a simple solution for the LR that plays video_ts (or .iso) with full menu support and is easy to use. For now I encode and play them on my :apple:TV but would like a better solution.
     
  7. JPDeckers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #7
    Well, as said, it works (perfectly) for me (tm). I have my DVDs stored on a NAS server, all fully ripped into VIDEO_TS folders.

    However, I use two hacks:
    * Copied the libmpeg2-osx.so back into the correct directory
    * After boxee finishes recognizing all my DVDs, I manually run a script on the database to make sure Boxee starts playing the VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.IFO first, and not the 'stack' it tries to discover itself.

    Esp. last one is a real hack, if I would have known I would have ripped all my DVDs to ISO instead of VIDEO_TS. Hmms, anybody aware of a tool that can convert VIDEO_TS folders back to .iso ?!


    And yes, I agree that this is not ready for the mass yet, but that's why we are alpha testers ;)
     
  8. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    How do you rip directly to .iso format? MTR and RipIt apparently can only do the video_ts (or .dvdmedia) format. And I also would like to know how to convert back to .iso format.
     
  9. OldGuyDave thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #9
    Thanks to all for the answers, I'm technically challenged so i guess I'll have to wait for it to ripen a bit more. :)

    As for making ISOs i use this
    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/18634/isolator
    I haven't tried it on video but it works like charm on data DVD/CDs, so video should go too.
     
  10. OldGuyDave thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #10
    I consider that ok too. Instead of the Video_ts folders I could do the rest as ISOs.
     
  11. ratter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #11
    I ripped a second ISO (I switched to using DVD Decrypter in VMWare/XP) and the menus worked fine. RWD/FFW between chapters doesn't work so hot, but that's not too big a deal for me. But I'll probably rip a few more before seeing if that first hack will be necessary for me. I'm gonna need much more storage if I end up reripping all my mp4s as ISO...:eek:
     

Share This Page