Boxee question

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by iOrlando, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. iOrlando macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #1
    Haven't updated my version of Boxee for Apple TV in about 3 weeks....any worthy updates occur during that time period?
     
  2. Dr Strangelove macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #3
    This boxee thing looks interesting. I just purchased an aTV, is this something I should be installing?
     
  3. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #4
    I don't really like it - the UI is too scattered...
     
  4. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #5
    Its free, so why not check it out?
     
  5. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #6
    It gives you a heck of a lot more sources for free. I agree that I'm not a big fan of the interace...not near as nice as the ATV interface, that being said, if you want to watch the latest shows on NBC, FOX, CBS, Comedy Central (and soon, ABC)...you'll have to install Boxee.

    In my opinion, thats the only real reason for me to use boxee...and its great for it...
     
  6. dwright1974 macrumors 6502

    dwright1974

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Ditto for us UK users ... BBC iPlayer on the telly without having to connect a computer!

    For watching movies that are .avi's I use XBMC(sp) - I quite like that interface.

    I would say give it a whizz, you can always do a factory restore of the Apple TV if you don't get on with it.

    - D
     
  7. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #8
    Is Boxee's server down? I tried to register this a.m. but nothing happens when I click on "let me in." The spinner just keeps spinning. This happens in Safari 3 and FireFox 3.
     
  8. chimpboy74 macrumors 6502a

    chimpboy74

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    so using boxee on my ATV will give me iplayer access through the ATV?

    If that is right will installing boxee invalidate my applecare I have for ATV or can all traces be removed should it need to be returned.

    I desperately want iplayer on my ATV but have ponied up for the applecare (I bought refurb you see)
     
  9. dwright1974 macrumors 6502

    dwright1974

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Sure does give you iPlayer access ... just configure it to point at http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer and you have access to all the content.

    Not sure about whether it would invalidate your AppleCare but you can do a factory restore of Apple TV if needed which gets rid of Boxee.

    I would assume that should it break and it needs to go back to Apple they would just Factory Restore it once fixed, (if at all).

    I wouldn't imagine this being something that would invalidate your AppleCare (but prepared to be corrected if anybody has gone through the EULA).

    - D
     
  10. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #11
    I don't know if anyone has tried. Your best bet, would be to do a restore before taking it in for service, which will remove boxee in it's entirety. However, what happens if your ATV fails in such a way to prevent you from doing a restore before taking it in for service? If the apple tech sees boxee on there, would they care?

    I have no idea...anyone ever try this?
     
  11. taytho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Location:
    KC, MO
    #12
    ABC soon?> i hadnt heard about this.... any more info on a timeline for this?
     
  12. ou lumberjack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #13
    Boxee is great if you care to watch streaming tv shows on popular networks...beyond that...the UI feels scattered...not sure how they could really fix that, though, without an overhaul. But--it's free, so worth checking out IMO
     
  13. Trooperof3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #14
    i don't think i'm smart enough to setup boxee lol
     
  14. MacFlash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #15
    Its not hard at all. I mean it is seriously easy, and hour max once you download the ATV thumb drive application and get a good quality USB stick.

    Assuming you have a Mac. I don't know about it using a windows computer to create the patchstick.
     
  15. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #16
    The streaming content is wonderful, but I think the fact that Boxee will play any video format you have is the main selling point. You can finally get all those pesky mkv files to your :apple:TV without having to convert in VisualHub.

    Two, the metadata capabilities are beautiful. I don't have to enter any metadata - I just name my files whatever the title of the show or movie is, and Boxee pulls all the info from a database.

    It's really extremely impressive.
     
  16. blktauna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Vlan plays anything I need to so far and I really don't like the interface on Boxee. The youtube search is crap unless you only want what it perceives to be the "popular" choice.

    It's a cool thought but until it grows to a stage of better customisation I'll not be using it much.
     
  17. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #18
    You can read article here.

    Last mention came in comments on that page on Jan. 24th. The post said:
     

Share This Page