Brag about how much your new MP can do at once

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BeyondMountains, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. BeyondMountains macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    Post what you can do with system specs.
    2.8(8core) - 2gb stock ram - 320gb stock hdd

    I was encoding a DVD w/toast, chatting on ichat, listening to music on VLC, its when I started to browse with firefox I got a slowed down. I need more ram!

    I plan on buying new hdd and more ram in the upcomming weeks.

    Okay, time to try to install Photoshop.
     
  2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    Well I surf the web, chat online, listen to iTunes, check e-mail, handbrake 2 movies at once, edit video, and scan photos at the same time.

    The Mac Pro laughs at it and calls me a little girl.
     
  3. cenetti macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #3
    brag? sure...:D

    right now...

    -I am converting 12gb 1080p file to .mp4 with high setting across the board.
    -watching a 1080p movie (running in the background)
    -writing tags with metaX
    -making changes to some spreadsheet in office via wmware fusion
    -and typing this post....

    8 core 2.8-4gb ram....and its running like a champ...:cool:
     
  4. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    whats up with my guy slowing down you guys seem to be doing a lot more lol
     
  5. cenetti macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #5
    I have the stock HDD (320gb)...so thats not the problem...
    I say its the RAM....up it to at least 4gb...

    goto "activity monitor"
    click "system memory"
    look at page outs....

    I used to have up to 1.5gb pageouts with stock ram...(2gb)..
    now everything is running smooth...
     
  6. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #6
    yeah its got to be the ram.

    Even window animations were getting slow (opening and closing windows)
     
  7. BeyondMountains thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #7
    well i'm not doing anything now and its at 136.00 kb out lol should i do what i was before to see what it goes up to?
     
  8. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #8
    My Mac Pro can do everything but wake from sleep.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Lines like that make me swoon to think what I'd have to do to put mine (near future) through to take it to the limit...

    Oh, and Handbrake will recognize both SuperDrives and work from them simultaneously?! That's kick-awesome. I was looking into one of the Plextor BD/HD-DVD drives that are coming out soon, or the tried & true LG one that's out now. I'll be ripping my movies onto my Mac Pro so that I don't have to cart DVDs to college. It's nice to know that it recognizes both.
     
  10. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    I feel stupid asking this, but what are "page ins and outs" ... I've heard that mentioned in a couple of threads and meant to ask... (describe in a way that Homer Simpson would understand).
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    "There's no such thing as a stupid question, only stupid people."
     
  11. Spikeanator6982 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #11
    hmm, page in=stuff going from harddrive to ram, page out=stuff ram still needs but doesnt have room for so it temporally sends to harddrive till it calls it back to ram. i think thats simple and mostly correct.
     
  12. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #12
    I don't even have dual superdrives, I have this Sony external drive made for PC's and it works just fine with my mac (leopard now supports all external drives).

    cool thing is if I had dual superdrives with the external I'd be looking at ripping 3 movies at once.

    Still have 2 processors left with no work to do when those 2 are ripping Mpeg 4's.
     
  13. talbalos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #13
    Hi,

    Long time lurker, first time poster.

    I bought my Mac Pro 3 GHz 8 core with the X1900 graphics card in late 2007 and populated it with 16 GB of RAM.

    Last month I was blown away when I was able to simultaneously render eight 1-4 minute green screen composites in Shake (One project with eight output nodes), a 4 minute, 14 second, 24 layer After Effects CS3 animation AND layout a rough cut in Final Cut Pro 6.
     

Share This Page