Brain remap required for new 2.8GHz iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Hibbsy, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. Hibbsy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Really started to push the new imac now and have found I have had to relearn my approach to using the mac.

    With my old G4 lamp I would only have open the applicatins I really needed for the task in hand and would often close apps if I wasn't using them right at that moment.

    Now I'm finding myself leaving iphoto minimised (something I could never do before) while I do something else for a while with maybe 7 or 8 other apps open at once. I can just do what I want when I want and clean up at the end... its great.

    Having one performace intensive app running doesn't slow the whole thing down. It always amazed me how good the 1Ghz G4 performed vs my 1.6Ghz laptop running windows when it came to true multi-tasking but the new imac makes my work laptop feel so painfull to use ! :)

    So for all you new imac users push your new mac to the limit ... it does much better than you may think ;)
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    I prefer hiding (Apple + H) apps to minimising them; my dock gets too unwieldy otherwise. I also think I read somewhere that hiding them consumes fewer resources, but I probably just made that up.
     
  3. oduinnin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #3
    Multiple open Apps ....

    Yes! That's the way Mac is supposed to work. That is also why I always load up with RAM when I get a new Mac. :D
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I heard that too, but I don't know any convincing reason for it. I use hide largely because it interacts with apple-tab better than minimize does. I don't minimize all that often. And actually, I don't hide that much anymore either. I just layer and use expose hot corners. :)
     
  5. RRK macrumors 6502

    RRK

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Location:
    USA/Ohio/Columbus
    #5
    I made the same move (1ghz G4 iMac -> 2.8ghz AlumiMac) and I know exactly what you are talking about. I attributed it mostly to the whole dual core thing.
     
  6. l33r0y macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #6
    How much memory do you have, just curious...

    You'll no doubt be happier still, when you start using Spaces in Leopard with all those apps open :)
     
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    depends on the app i think.
    quicktime for example doesn't stop playing the movie when you hide or minimize, but its still being shown in the dock whereas hiding its just not brought up so fewer resources. if that makes any sense.
     
  8. Hibbsy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I went for the full 4Gb (kingston value RAM not apple). I have a feeling that it will get faster with Leopard too.
     
  9. Hibbsy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Yeah i figured it must be the dual core stuff but having the power as well as an OS that knows how to multi-task properly is more powerful than I realized.

    When you actually use the machine rather than look for dead pixels, vague yellow colors if you squint really hard and temp testing the whole case by the mm it turns out to be one great bit of kit. :D
     

Share This Page