Brand new iMac (21.5") USB mystery

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sPaCePiR8, Feb 4, 2015.

1. sPaCePiR8 macrumors newbie

Hello forum,

I've been using Macs for over 10 years now, so far never had a problem which couldn't be solved but now it seems I've reached a point where this is no longer the case.

Have a new iMac (21.5", 3.1GHz, 1TB Fusion Drive) since a few days. Everything's working fine, apart from the USB ports. A few examples below:

- iPad working perfectly fine (i.e. charging and being recognized in iTunes) when using an original Apple Lightning cable
    - iPad alternating between "plugged-in" mode and "plugged-out" mode constantly when using a non-Apple Lightning cable (tried no name ones as well as Belkin ones - same result). The same no name or Belkin cable however works fine when charging iPad using the (original Apple) wall plug
    - iPhone works perfectly fine with no name / Belkin and Apple Lightning cable
    - 2.5" USB 2.0 portable hard drive works perfectly fine
    - 3.5" external hard drive (in case, externally powered) works perfectly fine over FireWire800 via Thunderbolt adapter
    - the same 3.5" external hard drive does not work over USB 3.0 (external case has 2 FW800 and one USB 3.0 plug). Whenever I plug it in using the USB 3.0 it appears in the Finder for a few seconds, then an error message pops up saying I should unmount the drive properly before ejecting. It also shows up in the disk utility within the first few seconds but then disappears. Have tried a few cables and all four USB ports and it's the same for all of them

Have searched the web quite extensively, many people seem to have problems with USB 3.0 drives when the Mac goes to sleep but my problem pops up immediately after I plug the drive in. When I first tried it I thought the USBs might be faulty but they work perfectly fine with the iPhone and the old USB 2.0 external HD

Any thoughts on this? Thanks in advance

2. redheeler macrumors 603

redheeler