Brand New Iphone 3g 3.1.3 Can Jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by luvu01, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. luvu01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #1
    my friend just bought a brand new iphone 3g 3.1.3 with att
    can he jailbreak?
     
  2. Bawstun macrumors 65816

    Bawstun

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #3
    Is there a way to do this on Windows? This guide shows the .dmg file way to do it, but my MacBook Pro is currently being fixed and so I can't open .dmg files...

    Is there a Windows 7 compatible way to jailbreak the new 3.1.3 running baseband 5.12.01?
     
  3. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #4
    Yeah, I believe the latest redsn0w will work for you (0.9.4). There's a windows version.
     
  4. bsblvnv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    The firmware on a 3G can be upgraded and downgraded as wished and it can be JB'ed on any version.

    Downgrade to 3.1.2 then use Redsn0w on your PC.

    But you cannot unlock for now.
     
  6. luvu01 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #7
    can you really downgrade the version 3.1.3 to 3.1.2? im a little confused about this. can you show me the link to where i can downgrade my version to 3.1.2?
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    With a 3G, just download the 3.1.2 official Apple IPSW, then use iTunes to install it.

    Can't be any easier.
     
  8. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #9
    :eek: I've been out of the iPhone JB loop for a couple months (since January).

    We now have untethered JB for the latest baseband 3GS iPhones?
     
  9. luvu01 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #10
    i never heard something like this? does it really work?
     
  10. jdhorner macrumors member

    jdhorner

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    #11
    i think the OP said "3G" not "3G S"
     
  11. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #12
    D'oh!
     

Share This Page