Brand new Mac...kinda, need some help (total noob here)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ryans79, May 3, 2009.

1. ryans79 macrumors regular

Hello!

Just got a macbook (second hand, not the aluminum one)
    its surprisingly good although a bit confusing for someone like me who has always had a PC. Running X.5 (Leopard i believe)

A few problems and questions, when answering this please use the same numbering so things dont get confusing... and you can answer a middle question even if you want to answer the other ones.

1. Theres no damn delete button, only a backspace... unless i am missing something?

2. Whats the button on the top right? looks like an eject symbol but does not do anything when i press it.

3. To close an app sometimes i right click and it shows me "eject" at times, what is that? shouldn't it always show me "quit"?

4. Very frustrating: how do i make windows full screen?
    is the only way by resizing it at the bottom right?

5. The windows seem to hide behind one other, is there some way that i can lay they out on the bottom like on windowz

Lots of other stuff, but i cant remember everything right now ;) will post again, these are the minor thingies.

And here are the biggies:
    A - The dude lost his installation CDs/DVDs or DVD (dont really know how Mac comes) so he told me if i want to reinstall it i just have to download the mac software from the net and do it, so i downloaded it from a site and now i hae a file with an extension of .dmg thats 7gigs... how do i burn this? Nero? never worked with this extension before.

B - How do i get a clean install, taking out all the last users files so i have a totally vanilla system (like i just bought it)?

C - Just being cautious here, so as i put the DVD in, and the installation starts automatically or...?

D - Miscellaneous : leave your tips, hints, warnings here please... but please note you will have to give me baby steps as i dont know squat about this...