Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Marcellus

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 10, 2011
Branford, CT
I am totally new to Mac computers, as I have only owned and used PC's. So
I literally turned on my new MacBook Pro 13 in. w/retina display this afternoon and followed the set up process on the screen. I agreed to FileVault encryption because I thought it would add another layer of security. At one point, I saw a message that said, "FileVault encryption paused. Plug in power adaptor to resume encryption." Well, the power adaptor is plugged in. In fact, it's green so the Mac is fully charged. Why would encryption still be paused if the power is plugged in? What can I do about it? Should I just turn off FileVault for now and resume set up? Thank you.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Disable it and you Mac will get a lot faster.

No it won't. Yes there's a performance penalty for FV, but its not all that much. Barely noticeable, in return your data is protected in case the the laptop is stolen.

Marcellus

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 10, 2011
Branford, CT

The MacBook will not allow me to disable it. When I tried to turn off FileVault, a message pops up that says, "FileVault is encrypting your files. Wait until it's finish." There is no other option but to click "OK."

Freyqq

macrumors 601
Dec 13, 2004

These days, the SSD controller does it for you on the fly. Almost no CPU usage or loss of speed.

----------

The MacBook will not allow me to disable it. When I tried to turn off FileVault, a message pops up that says, "FileVault is encrypting your files. Wait until it's finish." There is no other option but to click "OK."

Just let it work. Leave it on overnight. It is encrypting every file one by one.

Marcellus

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 10, 2011
Branford, CT